Retro-fit 318i for Dinan chip? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2004, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hendersonville, N.C.
Car:
Posts: 12
Photos:
evan161 is an unknown quantity at this point
I've got a '95 318ic. Recently I got a great deal on an aftermarket Dinan chip for a '94 318i. Unfortunately, my car has the security chip implanted in the ignition key. With the new chip, the fuel injection refuses to fire since it's not getting the key code. Motor turns over, no gas.

Can you replace the fuel injection control unit with a older one in order to bypass the security feature? Anybody know how to dodge the security lock-out?

Thanks.
evan161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2004, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
Did you check to make sure the ECU numbers matched? Its more than likely you did not put the propper chip in your car.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 07:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Andrewsd1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Car:
Posts: 698
Photos:
Andrewsd1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Andrewsd1985
You'd be better off buying the correct chip after you get around the problem, if that even is the problem.
__________________
PRESIDENT OF THE OVER 10 YEARS OLD AND UNDER 100K MILES CLUB
1993 325i 5spd
Benfer Performance Intake
M-tech Pedals and Shiftknob
Bavarian Auto Floor Mats
Wheelskin Steering Wheel Cover
Panasonic Head Unit
Euro Projector Lights w/ black Housing
Black Housing Clear Corners
Dinan Chip
MORE TO COME!!

<img src='http://plaza.ufl.edu/dunna/Pictures/banner.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Andrewsd1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hendersonville, N.C.
Car:
Posts: 12
Photos:
evan161 is an unknown quantity at this point
The ECU numbers match. And I double-checked it on Dinan's own Web site. That's why I risked buying it knowing I'd probably run into problems -- $50 instead of $250 seemed like a resonable gamble.

Someone told me the chip might be reprogrammable to insert the VIN code it's wanting.Apparently, race cars have to have them reprogrammed all the time.

Thoughts, experience?
evan161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 03:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Car:
Posts: 1,169
Photos:
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to Autotechnica Send a message via MSN to Autotechnica
I didn't even know E36's had chips in the keys. Anyways, does Dinan even make a chip that bypasses the chip in the key? On their website, they only have 3 different DME's for the ECU. If you have the right DME it should work. I think maybe the problem doesn't lie in the Dinan chip, but somewhere else.

Bry
__________________
<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 06:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hendersonville, N.C.
Car:
Posts: 12
Photos:
evan161 is an unknown quantity at this point
Dinan says I have to send the entire DME to them to be reprogrammed. I didn't want to do that because I'd be without a driveable car while they upgraded it. I bought the chip off eBay. It's probably a counterfeit.
evan161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Car:
Posts: 1,169
Photos:
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to Autotechnica Send a message via MSN to Autotechnica
Quote:
Originally posted by evan161@Apr 6 2004, 07:15 PM
Dinan says I have to send the entire DME to them to be reprogrammed. I didn't want to do that because I'd be without a driveable car while they upgraded it. I bought the chip off eBay. It's probably a counterfeit.
Are you sure when they require you to send in the entire computer for reprogramming that they are referring to the key's chip?

From what I understand the repogramming is either because the car is an OBDII (not in your case obviously) or because many of the OBDI 318's (92-95) had the entire chip soldered onto the board with no socket (the IC chip was not removable). I asked Dinan about this before and they said they would not provide warranty if you decided to have someone solder the chip and/or socket onto the board. So they required you to send it in for them to do the soldering and install so warranty would not be voided.

I had my stock chip removed by removing the solder. I had another socket soldered back into it's place just incase I wanted to swap chips in the future. I then popped in my Dinan chip with no problems.

What's your DME? I'll try to find out more for you.

Bryan
__________________
<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2004, 05:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hendersonville, N.C.
Car:
Posts: 12
Photos:
evan161 is an unknown quantity at this point
That's interesting. My chip isn't soldered in place. I was able to switch them with no problem. But everywhere I check, I find problems or confusing answers regarding a chip for a 318 with my production date (8/95).

I'm sure the 6-cylinders have a similar security feature, but there are plenty of chips out there and nobody seems to have the problem I have.

My DME is the one that ends in the numbers 357. Thanks for checking around

-- Mike
evan161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 02:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Car:
Posts: 1,169
Photos:
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to Autotechnica Send a message via MSN to Autotechnica
Quote:
Originally posted by evan161@Apr 7 2004, 06:16 PM
That's interesting. My chip isn't soldered in place. I was able to switch them with no problem. But everywhere I check, I find problems or confusing answers regarding a chip for a 318 with my production date (8/95).

I'm sure the 6-cylinders have a similar security feature, but there are plenty of chips out there and nobody seems to have the problem I have.

My DME is the one that ends in the numbers 357. Thanks for checking around

-- Mike
Here are the 318 DME's all '92-'95

0 261 200 990 (both my '92 and '94 318 had this DME, no key chip)
0 261 203 282
0 261 203 357

I've asked my friend who is a Dinan dealer and according to him there is no "special" chip that they sell which deals with the key chip. Infact, I wasn't even aware that any E36's had key chips. Even my friend's '98 M3 does not have a key chip. He said he has sold chips for each one of thoes DME's and no one has ever had the problem that you have. Could this possibly be only on the convertable models?

Sorry I can't help,

Bryan
__________________
<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 03:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hendersonville, N.C.
Car:
Posts: 12
Photos:
evan161 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks for checking. Maybe that isn't the problem.

The site I bought the chip from said it was for the 1994 model. I see a lot of sites drawing a line right at that 12/94 production date. I was hoping since the ECU numbers matched, it would work on my 1995.

My cabrio does have the chip in the key. For some reason, my spare key has gone bad and won't start the car. Someone told me it'll cost $100 or more for another key. I was hoping I could switch out the fuel injection and gain more performance from a chip and get to use my spare key as well.
evan161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chip for 318i BlantonG13 3-Series (E36) 2 06-23-2004 11:10 PM
Turtle wax chip stick steve325IS Wash & Detail 10 06-22-2004 11:56 AM
'96 318i Chip Live_the_Curves 3-Series (E36) 3 06-20-2004 11:06 AM
Chip for 1984 318i?? tyro2001 3-Series (E21, E30) 3 04-08-2004 06:35 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.