replace fuses if not broken in two? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2004, 11:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
/Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nap town
Car:
Posts: 251
Photos:
okczy21 is an unknown quantity at this point
should i go ahead and just change the fuses dealing with temp, fuel, rpm, and speedo even though the fuses are not broke in two
okczy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2004, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Car:
Posts: 3,677
Photos:
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
it can't hurt!!
__________________
-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
4th Gear Member
 
LivinFast67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Car:
Posts: 831
Photos:
LivinFast67 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to LivinFast67
y would you, like a pre-emptive strike?
__________________
<img src='http://n00106.myspace.com/00106/13/45/106195431_l.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

Breyton Inspiration 17&quot;x8.5&quot;, dde plus, euro elispoids, clear front markers/rear light's, k&amp;n ram cold air intake, Clarion Deck, 8&quot; sub tube

Member:3 pedal club
Member: 10+ years club
Member: Ran from a cop and got away club
LivinFast67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 12:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
/Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nap town
Car:
Posts: 251
Photos:
okczy21 is an unknown quantity at this point
i really dont know why but ive read people changing their fuses and their speedometer would work again as if thats the problem
okczy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 12:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
skawful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Phoenix
Car:
Posts: 2,090
Photos:
skawful is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to skawful
is it wierd not having the speedo work?
i could do the rpms (just couldnt do any fancy shifting)
__________________
<img src='http://img259.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sig8hw.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
skawful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 01:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
/Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nap town
Car:
Posts: 251
Photos:
okczy21 is an unknown quantity at this point
it will work if i tap the plastic but i dont wanna do that forever thats kinda ghetto
okczy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 02:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
2.link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca & Phoenix, Az
Car:
Posts: 1,819
Photos:
2.link is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 2.link
You can take apart your gauges pretty easy and check to see if the needle is just stuck. I know when I installed my new face plates I got some epoxy down where the tach needle goes and everyonce in a while it will stick when i start up the car, I just give the dash a little hit from my wrist and it pops right up. You will need a torx screwdriver to remove the screws, there are two of them at the top of your gauge panel. Then reach over to where your light switch is and under that there is a screw; remove that screw and pull out that switch and fan(comes out as one piece) and unplug the light switch and fog light switch if you have it. Reach your hand back in that hole over toward your gauges, find the back of them and push on them, wiggle and move 'em around and they will come loose, pull them as far out as you can straight, and reach back and unplug those wires, there is a latch mechanism on them that has to be unlatched. After getting the wires unplugged work it around to get the panel out from behind the steering wheel(you do not have to remove the wheel, it comes out, it may take some time but it will come out.

After getting them out turn the gauges on their front and look at the back there are 5 or 6 screws, also torx, to be removed, after they are takin out, you have to cut a sticker about some warning about takin the gauges apart blah blah blah(like a matress tag lol) anyway once you get them apart you should be able to touch the needles and stuff. Taking the speedo needle off isnt too bad because you dont have to mark where it was before. To remove it, it takes a bit of pressure, I used two small flat head screw drivers under the needle where it slide onto the electric motor. by taking the screw driver like this (T is the needle :P) --T-- /T\ it will pop off after a bit. Look around in there and see if there is something blocking the needle, or maybe the motor is fried, i unno. Put the needle back on just line it up with the little pointer piece at 0 or w/e then reverse the breakdown and install everything back.
__________________
<img src='http://www.european-forums.com/forums/uploads/post-1-1107198379.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Formally known as Asio.
2.link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 05:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Car: Blah
Posts: 5,375
Photos:
97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Father always use to say... why fix something that isnt broke.. it doesnt make sence.... If they look crappy.. change them.. if they still work.. leave them.

Les
__________________

1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 08:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
BMWBeauty416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Car: '00 M-B CLK430 Cabriolet
Posts: 4,872
Photos:
BMWBeauty416 is a name known to allBMWBeauty416 is a name known to allBMWBeauty416 is a name known to allBMWBeauty416 is a name known to allBMWBeauty416 is a name known to allBMWBeauty416 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to BMWBeauty416 Send a message via MSN to BMWBeauty416 Send a message via Yahoo to BMWBeauty416
my radio in my eclipse is a fine example of how a fuse can LOOK like it's just fine and perfect and not be! changing fuses or at least checking them can never hurt

~*Teg*~
__________________
BMWBeauty416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 10:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Car:
Posts: 205
Photos:
nycbmw325is is an unknown quantity at this point
I agree with all the posters that said replacement of fuses can't hurt... but checking them for continuity is super easy and quick and can save you some money on replacment fuses. however, since you say that smacking the custer makes it work... it is highly unlikely that a fuse is bad since the fuse is not anywhere near the cluster. But answer my earlier post .... did everything work before you changed the faces?
nycbmw325is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 11:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
/Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nap town
Car:
Posts: 251
Photos:
okczy21 is an unknown quantity at this point
yeah they worked fine before i changed them, it really seems to me like the needles are getting stuck, and also my odometer is so dim you can hardly see it
okczy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken Foot Rest! Aloyouis 3-Series (E46, E90) 2 03-21-2005 07:41 PM
Should I Replaced All Fuses With 15a uclabruins1996 3-Series (E36) 3 12-05-2004 10:48 PM
Maitenence Checklist- The Full Monty mmzcee 3-Series (E36) 12 12-05-2004 05:43 AM
Dichedguy Billb Please Help On Replace Thermostat mnguyen11111 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 11-03-2004 03:27 PM
Broken glass in vents Kiwi Russ 3-Series (E36) 4 07-12-2004 12:08 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.