Removing Head unit - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2004, 06:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Surry, London. UK
Car:
Posts: 1
Photos:
328iMtech is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi,

Recently bought 328i conv, wanted some advice on how to remove the head unit
& put in a Pioneer MP3 head unit.

Will I need to buy some sort of adaptor to connect my Pioneer or will I just be able to connect, I have the Business head unit.

Thanks

328iMtech
328iMtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2004, 07:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
BLACKBMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London - UK
Car:
Posts: 761
Photos:
BLACKBMW is an unknown quantity at this point
Although I'm not a techie - you can take out the unit by removing the fascia which is clipped on and then using the correct tool or a thin knife you can work the unit out of its metal bracket...J
__________________
<img src='http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v629/BLACKBMW1/alssig.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

Thought for the day: &quot;d'uh&quot;
BLACKBMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2004, 07:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Sk1d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 41
Photos:
Sk1d is an unknown quantity at this point
Depending on how old your 328 is, u may need to buy a link lead that will connect to your BMW audio harness convertin it to a standard ISO connection. You may also need to buy an adapter for the coax plug, depending on wat type Pioneer use on their systems...

Best bet, take the old head unit out 1st and have a look at the audio harness connectors to see if they're already the ISO type, and check to see if the coax will just plug straight in...

It'll either all plug straight in or u'll be in 4 a trip 2 Halfords...

Good luck...
__________________
Me-Chanic
Sk1d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2004, 08:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
MrChance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Car:
Posts: 143
Photos:
MrChance is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to MrChance Send a message via AIM to MrChance Send a message via MSN to MrChance
http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/topic15354.html

Everything you ever wanted to know about replacing anything ICE related.
__________________
Three Words: More Cow Bell

Member of the &quot;My last BMW had 462k miles on it and still ran like a monster so I bought another one&quot; club.
MrChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2004, 12:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
Pretty much. This topic has also been discusses many times over. Please use the search feautre in the future.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2004, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
funtoos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Car:
Posts: 365
Photos:
funtoos is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to funtoos
328iMtech,
do u want to sell your business cd head unit?

if so, let me know how much...
thanx,
funtoos
__________________
'04 330Ci
'00 Kawasaki ZX9-R

Now looking for an M3
funtoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 10:23 PM
Cd Changer Adapability nookatee Audio and Electronics 5 02-05-2005 11:36 PM
Removing Stock Head Unit 412underground Audio and Electronics 1 01-05-2005 09:11 PM
Removing E46 Head Unit 330-Paul Audio and Electronics 3 09-27-2004 10:46 AM
OEM changer and head unit mystery BobCT Audio and Electronics 4 08-04-2004 11:50 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.