Remote Start Cuts Off - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2005, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Car:
Posts: 7
Photos:
CellFreedom is an unknown quantity at this point
Arrow

I have a 1994 318 Manual 4cyl

I installed a Remote Start and it works fine then 10 seconds after it cuts off.

I cut the EWS off I think but it still doesn't work

any ideas??
CellFreedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2005, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Car:
Posts: 48
Photos:
swanvesta is an unknown quantity at this point
i had one of those and it did the same thing. my problem was that it needed to get to a certain rpm before it realised that it was started. does yours keep trying to start even after it has started? if so, contact the manufacturer and they will talk you through adjusting the idle rpm sensor thing in your remote starters brain. if tis not that, then i dont know the problem unless its not switching on the fuel pump or something? good luck..
swanvesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2005, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Car:
Posts: 3,677
Photos:
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
this is one of the reasons why they don't want remote start in manual vechicles... 1 being, that there are allways problems.. and 2, god forbid if you ever leave the car in gear, and try to start it... the car will jump and crash into something...

my suggestion is... bring it to a place that installs manual trany remote starts(illegally)and have them take a look at it...
__________________
-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2005, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Pandemonium Director
 
nukeduster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Car: turbo 325is, 325es, Audi a4 turbo
Posts: 2,372
Photos:
nukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to nukeduster Send a message via MSN to nukeduster
what kind of alarm did you use?

what wire did you use when you ran your rpm sensor? the main thick black wire (12-ish gauge) that connects to the bmw diagnostic harness works good for aftermarket RPM detection. just put a t-tap on it and c'est voila.
__________________
nukeduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2005, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Car: 2001 330i & 2011 550i
Posts: 7,254
Photos:
Delmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
If your car is "chipped"..meaning your Master, Wallet, Valet keys has a chip that signals the engine to start...then you need to install that chip into your cylinder lock behind your steering wheel for remote start to work all the way.

I had the same problem with my 1995 318i...and I went to the dealership bought a little ass plastic wallet key for $59 and I took it back to the installer and(...although I didnt see what he did exactly..) he just used the chip in the remote start module and inserted it into the car so the car could remote start from my BMW key fob....(my alarm is called PRESTIGE by the way)

So, guess what? It didn't work and worse I got home and my car didn't start with anything (keys, remote..paperclip) for two days... I eventually towed it to a BMW dealership and they told me I needed a new cylinder lock.... I paid $580 and they installed a new lock...
I went back to my alarm installer guy and told him my drama and that I don't need remote start since it was way too much trouble . I got my money back from him even though he was sure it should have worked used . Anyway that drama was July/August 2004.
Now get this, last Thanksgiving Dinner, November 2004, It was cold outside and I gave my girl my car keys with the keyless entry fob (it still has the remote start button-but i never used it) and told her to go ahead and start my car since I was waiting to get some doggy bags from my moms. 3 minutes later I get outside and my girl is sitting in the car with the heat on blasting full and the radio and headlights are all on. I look at her and she hands me the keys as I sitdown in the car...I was like WTF?!!!!The keys were nt even in the ignition!!!

apparantly she was trying to unlock the door with the keyless entry button and hit the worng button a few times (the remote start button) and it actually started the car.

Now...this is where I answer your question....
when i put the key in the ignition and turn if I do NOT step on the gas and rev it past 1.5 RPMs the engine shuts off.
Anyway so now my remote start works...but that is how you do it...
my car is awesome...that was a cool surprise!!
__________________
Delmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 09:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Car:
Posts: 471
Photos:
Rookie is an unknown quantity at this point
I believe you need a bypass module for the EWS. My space key is buried DEEP inside my dash, but only the alarm system can powerup and use the chip that is in that key. SO the system is still intact for security of the vehicle. Also cruzin, most of the remote starts have safe guards that make it impossible to leave it in gear. My car will stay running until you take the keys out of the ignition and getout, then once you close the door it arms and shuts the car off.
__________________
Hookers need love too!
What we do in life echoes an eternity
<img src='http://vfs.com/~3d43patrick/rookiesig2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Pandemonium Director
 
nukeduster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Car: turbo 325is, 325es, Audi a4 turbo
Posts: 2,372
Photos:
nukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond reputenukeduster has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to nukeduster Send a message via MSN to nukeduster
prestige is just one of the consumer marketing names for audiovox's 9000 series alarms.

you dont need to mess with the EWS system if you know what you are doing. there are bypass modules made which bypass the system entirely for the remote start. I can get you one if you cannot find one locally, I have a corporate account with audiovox and get all their parts at WD (pl-4) price level.
__________________
nukeduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remote start kc740i Audio and Electronics 3 11-09-2005 09:35 PM
Remote Start help?! 007ben Audio and Electronics 9 09-30-2005 09:35 AM
Remote Start, And Car Communication hyperboimmv Audio and Electronics 1 09-21-2004 07:08 PM
Remote Start on a 323ci btr24evr Audio and Electronics 2 03-07-2004 07:23 AM
remote start ds16 3-Series (E36) 5 02-06-2004 11:01 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.