radio shorted need help - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-19-2012, 04:04 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
salp is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
radio shorted need help

Hello everyone,

My first post on this forum. I bought a 1998 323is a couple days ago. My problem is that the radio shorted out. The person I bought the car from had a aftermarket head unit in and had loose wires in the back. I changed the 10a fuse under the hood, taped all the wiring, still wouldnt work, so I replaced head unit and still not working. Is there another fuse somewhere?
salp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 10-20-2012, 01:44 AM
4DoorWhore
 
Lord Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lord Vader is on a distinguished road
Taped all the wiring? Which wiring? Dont use tape.

The factory amp and 6 disc changer are in the trunk. The amp on the drivers side. Check the wiring loom going into the truck as it is a common occurence to fray and short out with time.


ProjectTechnik.com - Alberta based BMW Community
See My car on Project Technik HERE!

And Follow Me on Instagram @E36M52

Founding Member of the Canyonrot Club! Paint Code #343

| OE M3 Bumper | M3 Mirrors | Max Velocity GTR Lip | Euro ZKW Projector Headlights | Jim Conforti CF CAI | UUC Motorwerks Underdrive Pulleys | 18x8 ASA AR1's | Koni Sport Springs & Shocks |
Lord Vader is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 10-20-2012, 02:25 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
salp is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Yes, I retaped it. I know it should have heat shrink tubing. I pulled it out and noticed some bare wires back there. Im not sure if it have a sub back there but ill check it out. It only blew one fuse and I replaced that one but am now getting no power to radio and am not blowing a fuse either. Is there a fuse another fuse besides the one under the hood?
salp is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 10-20-2012, 02:26 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
salp is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Also, I dont think there is a cd changer back there.
salp is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 10-20-2012, 08:20 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
salp is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
I did find the amp in the trunk. I did not see a separate fuse or cd changer back there.
salp is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 10-21-2012, 05:43 AM
4DoorWhore
 
Lord Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lord Vader is on a distinguished road
Their isnt an additional fuse to the amp as far as i know, but the way the system works, when you remove one component the rest doesnt work. When i removed my CD changer to change my shocks out, the radio would not come on. No power, nothing. Check ALL the wiring, including the wiring loom going into the trunk. Make sure all the connectors are secured properly.


ProjectTechnik.com - Alberta based BMW Community
See My car on Project Technik HERE!

And Follow Me on Instagram @E36M52

Founding Member of the Canyonrot Club! Paint Code #343

| OE M3 Bumper | M3 Mirrors | Max Velocity GTR Lip | Euro ZKW Projector Headlights | Jim Conforti CF CAI | UUC Motorwerks Underdrive Pulleys | 18x8 ASA AR1's | Koni Sport Springs & Shocks |
Lord Vader is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 10-21-2012, 12:59 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
salp is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Found the problem. It blew a couple fuses, not just the radio fuse. Thanks for your help. I just unplugged the headunit completely, I think I want the cd43. Will that work best with the stock speakers and amp? I want it to look stock.
salp is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 01:39 AM
4DoorWhore
 
Lord Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lord Vader is on a distinguished road
The CD43 Business unit with the in dash CD player? Or standard CD43 with the 6 disc in the trunk?

Mine is a CD43 with the 6 disc. A factory headunit is allways the best. I wont replace mine for that reason. However if you want a CD43 BU then expect to pay $300-400+. They are not made anymore, and are hard to find. They are quite popular because you can hook up the DICE media interface to run an iPod/iPhone through the stock headunit and still retain the CD player.


ProjectTechnik.com - Alberta based BMW Community
See My car on Project Technik HERE!

And Follow Me on Instagram @E36M52

Founding Member of the Canyonrot Club! Paint Code #343

| OE M3 Bumper | M3 Mirrors | Max Velocity GTR Lip | Euro ZKW Projector Headlights | Jim Conforti CF CAI | UUC Motorwerks Underdrive Pulleys | 18x8 ASA AR1's | Koni Sport Springs & Shocks |
Lord Vader is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 12:06 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
salp is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
yup, thats the one I want, but probably won't get because of price. The aftermarket kenwood is working fine now, minus the antenna sounding crappy. I need to find a 12v source to connect the antenna wire in the harness to. Got that working today, but now have a problem with the passenger window not working. It was fine parked the car for an hour or so, got back in and suddenly it won't work. I'm thinking that is probably the switch. Ill have to test that by switching the switches.
salp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I shorted Out My System..I need Help myz151 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 11-27-2010 04:10 PM
E34 Factory Radio Removal+Aftermarket radio install help Chris Bowne 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 11-11-2010 07:18 AM
Security code for radio/ ? how do you remove radio... mikebishop 3-Series (E36) 4 10-20-2010 01:42 PM
Radio unlock code & radio LCD backlight issue imkenny 3-Series (E36) 3 12-12-2009 08:22 AM
how to hook up radio antenna to after market radio???? joserodrigo 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 11-29-2009 09:01 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome