Radio Help - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 12-28-2011, 07:48 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fazer1000 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Question Radio Help

Ok so I am having an issue with a 1999 E36 323ic that I bought used a few months ago. I got the code to the radio, pushed it in, the radio display turned the orange color it is suppose to but I am not getting any sound out of the radio. I checked the back of the radio and the 7.5 amp fuse is good, the big black box with all the speaker wires and the power wire is plugged in, the little silver anntenna looking thing is screwed in place on the back and the anntanea wire is plugged up. I can hear sound coming out of the top of the headunit (radio itself) but not coming through the speakers. The sound is so low you have to lay your ear ontop of the radio to hear it but I can tell what is being played if I do that and when I change the channel all of that works too. Can anyone help me get the sound to come out of my speakers please....I am starting to get tired of laying my phone in the passenger seat just to listen to the music I have downloaded in on it. Thanks...
Fazer1000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 12-29-2011, 10:52 AM
Captain... Savvy ?
 
Jack Dabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Barnsley UK
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Jack Dabsy will become famous soon enough
Garage
Have a look at the Amp in the trunk/boot area...


Eso es todo!
Please press the "REP" button if you are happy with your response/answer...

Please JOIN, or just have a look... Its Totally FREE...
BMW Part Market

BMW Online Manuals (TIS)

New Member ?
Jack Dabsy is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 12-29-2011, 06:46 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fazer1000 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
I just pulled the amp out..come to find out (the hard way) the amp is actually behind the passenger seat in the back next to the subwoofer. Im guessing bc its a convertible they placed it there. Anyways all the wires were plugged in and look to be in good shape. Is there anyway to test the amp to see if maybe it is fried. Like I said earlier it is coming out the top of the headunit but it is really quiet. Nothing out the speakers though. Is there anyway to test this further. I would hate to buy a new amp if its not broke.
Fazer1000 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 12-30-2011, 11:06 AM
Captain... Savvy ?
 
Jack Dabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Barnsley UK
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Jack Dabsy will become famous soon enough
Garage
Did you try disconnecting and reconnecting any/all the plugs (even on the HU)?
This sometimes works...
Double check all the ground(s)/earth(s) too. ;-)


Eso es todo!
Please press the "REP" button if you are happy with your response/answer...

Please JOIN, or just have a look... Its Totally FREE...
BMW Part Market

BMW Online Manuals (TIS)

New Member ?
Jack Dabsy is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 12-31-2011, 03:15 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fazer1000 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
I did all that and no results...oh well. Im guessing it is just fried. I can get a used one off of ebay off of a 96 97 98 328i that looks identical. I think that might be my simple fix. I might try something different tomorrow and see but looks like im running out of options.
Fazer1000 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-10-2012, 11:17 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
m3sleeper is on a distinguished road
did you check the fuse built into the amp
m3sleeper is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 01-12-2012, 12:33 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fazer1000 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Yeah I checked it too. It appears to be ok. Im waiting on an amp from my Uncle who lives in Georgia so I will have to see if that fixes the problem. If I does I guess my amp was the issue. I will let yall know. Thanks for the help. Any more Ideas would be great. All I know to do is just swap out the amps and see if it works :/
Fazer1000 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 01-12-2012, 02:24 PM
Captain... Savvy ?
 
Jack Dabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Barnsley UK
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Jack Dabsy will become famous soon enough
Garage
Check the wiring too buddy, could be a broken one in there! Especially if some cowboy did a re-fit !!!


Eso es todo!
Please press the "REP" button if you are happy with your response/answer...

Please JOIN, or just have a look... Its Totally FREE...
BMW Part Market

BMW Online Manuals (TIS)

New Member ?
Jack Dabsy is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 01-13-2012, 01:08 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
m3sleeper is on a distinguished road
how many amps is the head unit putting out, I installed a radio in mine and it worked fine, but after about an hour it would blink out, checked it out and it was hot as hell put in a lower amp head unit and it now work fine havent had problems for 2 years.
m3sleeper is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 01-13-2012, 01:10 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
m3sleeper is on a distinguished road
but the head unit you have may be over loading the factory amp. but switch them out and let me know.
m3sleeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E34 Factory Radio Removal+Aftermarket radio install help Chris Bowne 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 11-11-2010 08:18 AM
Security code for radio/ ? how do you remove radio... mikebishop 3-Series (E36) 4 10-20-2010 02:42 PM
Radio unlock code & radio LCD backlight issue imkenny 3-Series (E36) 3 12-12-2009 09:22 AM
how to hook up radio antenna to after market radio???? joserodrigo 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 11-29-2009 10:01 PM
Need Radio Code For 1992 Business Radio danger450 3-Series (E36) 5 03-07-2005 12:35 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome