Quick question: wiper setting ?? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2005, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Car:
Posts: 30
Photos:
oe_tuning is an unknown quantity at this point
Quick question: wiper setting ??

Guys,

The #2 wiper setting - is it supposed to be intermittent when the car stops and automatically becomes normal speed when the car drives ?

Cause I just realized that mine has the following:
#1 Intermittent w/ around 15 sec delay
#2 Intermittent w/ around 9 sec delay (no matter the car stops or moves)
#3 Super fast

What could be wrong with it - relay, motor, other suggestions?

Thanks all and have a nice weekend !!!
oe_tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2005, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Car: zhp
Posts: 12,129
Photos:
drz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond reputedrz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
What year is your car?
__________________
drz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 11:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Car:
Posts: 30
Photos:
oe_tuning is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by drz
What year is your car?

opps sorry ........

I got a 94 e36 btw
oe_tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 12:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Gear Member
 
BeachBunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Car: 2012 328i
Posts: 3,805
Photos:
BeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond reputeBeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute
Haha. Yea. I freaked out when I noticed my wipers doing that, too. It's totally normal.
BeachBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 05:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Car:
Posts: 30
Photos:
oe_tuning is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeachBunny
Haha. Yea. I freaked out when I noticed my wipers doing that, too. It's totally normal.
omg, are you saying we don't have a "normal" speed wiper setting ?

i just dont understand the point of having 2 intermittent settings used:
oe_tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 07:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Dudesky_E36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Car: Anthracite e39 530iA
Posts: 241
Photos:
Dudesky_E36 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Dudesky_E36
Something is definitely wrong with your wipers' electronics. The wipe delay for position 1 can be set anywhere from 3 to 25 seconds. Whatever you set it to is what position 2 should do when you're at a standstill. But once you start moving, position 2 should be wiping at "normal' speed, without a delay between wipes.

I checked the Bentley manual for you, and the wiring diagrams indicate that the "windshield wiper module" controls this delay. But the manual says nothing about where this module is located, or how to access it.
__________________
Dudesky_E36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 09:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Car:
Posts: 30
Photos:
oe_tuning is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dudesky_E36
Something is definitely wrong with your wipers' electronics. The wipe delay for position 1 can be set anywhere from 3 to 25 seconds. Whatever you set it to is what position 2 should do when you're at a standstill. But once you start moving, position 2 should be wiping at "normal' speed, without a delay between wipes.

I checked the Bentley manual for you, and the wiring diagrams indicate that the "windshield wiper module" controls this delay. But the manual says nothing about where this module is located, or how to access it.
Thanks Dudesky !!


Guys, can the module be fixed or do I have to get a new one??
oe_tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 12:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Science Roolz!
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Car: 2011 Mazda2, 1990 Miata
Posts: 7,043
Photos:
SHAHAB323IS is a name known to allSHAHAB323IS is a name known to allSHAHAB323IS is a name known to allSHAHAB323IS is a name known to allSHAHAB323IS is a name known to allSHAHAB323IS is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to SHAHAB323IS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dudesky_E36
Something is definitely wrong with your wipers' electronics. The wipe delay for position 1 can be set anywhere from 3 to 25 seconds. Whatever you set it to is what position 2 should do when you're at a standstill. But once you start moving, position 2 should be wiping at "normal' speed, without a delay between wipes.

I checked the Bentley manual for you, and the wiring diagrams indicate that the "windshield wiper module" controls this delay. But the manual says nothing about where this module is located, or how to access it.
and i thought bentley was god
__________________
2011 Mazda2
1990 Mazda Miata
SHAHAB323IS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 08:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Dudesky_E36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Car: Anthracite e39 530iA
Posts: 241
Photos:
Dudesky_E36 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Dudesky_E36
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHAHAB323IS
and i thought bentley was god
Nope. It's a great manual, but they do get stuff wrong, and they sometimes tend to overcomplicate procedures.
__________________
Dudesky_E36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 09:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
fredo 328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Car:
Posts: 111
Photos:
fredo 328 is an unknown quantity at this point
Ah, wait a minute. Was being able to do what you said should be available on position 1 "position 1 can be set anywhere from 3 to 25 seconds" an upgrade or only available on certain years cause mine doesnt do that. Position one on mine is simple 3 or 4 second delay-cant make it longer or shorter, position 2 is no delay but slow (and delays wiping when car stops) and position 3 is fast. What am I missing? I have a 98 328
__________________
<img src='http://home.comcast.net/~farrieta/index_files/sig2b.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
********************************
&quot;staring at the world thru my rearview&quot; 2pac

Last edited by fredo 328; 09-25-2005 at 09:15 PM.
fredo 328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 05:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Dudesky_E36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Car: Anthracite e39 530iA
Posts: 241
Photos:
Dudesky_E36 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Dudesky_E36
The programmable wiper timer was in fact a factory option, but most E36's have it. To see if you have it, here's how it's done:

Move the lever to position 1, then immediately back to position 0. This action starts the timer. After the desired time has elapsed (3 to 25sec), move the lever back to position 1. This stops the timer and sets it at that interval. To change the timer interval again, start at position 0, and begin the procedure again.
__________________
Dudesky_E36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 05:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
fredo 328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Car:
Posts: 111
Photos:
fredo 328 is an unknown quantity at this point
Woh! How intuitive is that!? Thanks I'll try it today since it appears we are getting some rain after 2 1/2 months without any. I never would have figured that one out, didn't even think to look in the book since I thought it wasn't even there.
__________________
<img src='http://home.comcast.net/~farrieta/index_files/sig2b.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
********************************
&quot;staring at the world thru my rearview&quot; 2pac
fredo 328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 05:53 AM   #13 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
fredo 328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Car:
Posts: 111
Photos:
fredo 328 is an unknown quantity at this point
Tried it and it does not appear I have that feature, looked in the book and it does not mention it either. Oh well, timed the intermittent setting and its 16 seconds.
__________________
<img src='http://home.comcast.net/~farrieta/index_files/sig2b.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
********************************
&quot;staring at the world thru my rearview&quot; 2pac
fredo 328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 09:00 AM   #14 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Car:
Posts: 30
Photos:
oe_tuning is an unknown quantity at this point
My manual says that you can set the intermittent if you have the automatice intensive cleaning feature.

anyway, any idea to get my "normal" speed back to my #2 setting??
oe_tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 12:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
fredo 328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Car:
Posts: 111
Photos:
fredo 328 is an unknown quantity at this point
Sorry OE Tuning, I didnt mean to 'jack the thread. It sounds like you need to bring it back to zero setting and let it sit there for as many seconds you need the delay. Then again I could be wrong since I dont have the "Automatic Intensive Cleaning" feature, sounds kinda serious!!
__________________
<img src='http://home.comcast.net/~farrieta/index_files/sig2b.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
********************************
&quot;staring at the world thru my rearview&quot; 2pac
fredo 328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick question? stracer 3-Series (E36) 2 10-07-2005 04:54 AM
Quick Question About Two Different DDE's... Red93B3M2W5i 3-Series (E36) 4 10-07-2005 12:19 AM
question about wiper arm removal 1994 318is ultraviolet353 3-Series (E36) 3 09-09-2004 04:24 PM
one quick question here! JDM 3-Series (E46, E90) 16 02-06-2004 05:18 PM
Quick question about shocks and struts. CyPHER 3-Series (E36) 5 12-14-2003 04:12 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.