Performance Chips? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2005, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
bob318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Minnesota
Car:
Posts: 146
Photos:
bob318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to bob318
Hello everyone, I dont know much about perfromance chips at all. I know that they give you more horsepower and thats what im looking for. I have a 95 318ti. If any of you could tell me what kind of chip i need and possibly send me a link id appreciate it alot. and also are they easy to instal? Thanks alot anybody thats reading this. Bob318
__________________

Custome MagnaFlow catback exhaust, Millie miglia 17inch rims, Goodyear Eagle F1 tires, Carbon headlight brows, Carbon badges, Clear corners in the front,Clear sidemarkers and Custome smoked taillights.
bob318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-11-2005, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
VeLoCiTy318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 240
Photos:
VeLoCiTy318 is an unknown quantity at this point
from what I've heard Turner Motorsport is the way to go for chips. I will be purchasing a chip sometime within the next couple weeks and that is the company I will be getting it from. I have a 95 318is and it claims a hp gain of 11 and a torque gain of 19. unfortunately, I did not see a chip on there for the Ti, but I would suggest emailing them to see if they have one available or if the 318i/is one would work.

Dinan does, on the other hand, offer a performance chip bragging the same power increases. Your best bet might be with them.
and as for install, it is extremely easy and would probably take less than 20 minutes. here are some links:

Turner Motorsport-
http://www.turnermotorsport.com/html/subca...36&subcat_id=74

Dinan-
http://www.dinanbmw.com/
(318ti section is under 3 series e36/5)

-Brandon
__________________
<img src='http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/velocity318/test2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Kenwood KDC-MP822 h/u, H&amp;R race springs, Bilstein sport shocks, Rondell 17x8 wheels, Toyo proxes 225/45, TMS camber arms, rolled rear fenders, smoked corners, smoked sidemarkers, smoked taillights, Cosmo cold air intake, ///M pedals, clutch stop, parking light delete, license plate delete, black roundel overlays, tint
VeLoCiTy318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 12:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
hugoboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Car:
Posts: 35
Photos:
hugoboss is an unknown quantity at this point
black on black has one for sale PM me or him for the TMS chip
hugoboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 12:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 293
Photos:
rsn48 is an unknown quantity at this point
Chips are usually easy to plug in and take out. However, on my 94 318i the chip was soldered in. When I talked to the dealer I was told that some were soldered in. If this is the case, you'll have a hard time swapping in and out the chip. If you know some one who does a lot of work on computers soldering in stuff, then you can have them unsolder the old chip and install the new one.

The good news is most are just plug and play.
rsn48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 01:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
General Chaos
 
SpeedInfusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Car: ///M3,Corolla
Posts: 13,803
Photos:
SpeedInfusion has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to SpeedInfusion
I have the TMS chip, that thing is awsome, mine was plug and play, keep in mind u will have to use 91 grade gas only after installing chip...
__________________
SpeedInfusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 07:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
i think for 318's the Dinan chip is better.
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 09:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Car:
Posts: 692
Photos:
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
yes, either go with TMS or Dinan, not sure which is btter, haven't heard much for the 318, but TMS is better for 6-cyclinders. In the end either will be great to add to your car!
kyle_baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 09:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Car: Blah
Posts: 5,375
Photos:
97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Just wondering if when people say TMS chip... are you speaking of the Jim Conforti chip?... cause thats what the sell... yes they make their own... but they also have the Jim C. chip... which is really nice... and works great imo.

Les
__________________

1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 11:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
VeLoCiTy318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 240
Photos:
VeLoCiTy318 is an unknown quantity at this point
so Dinan is better for 4 cyl than TMS/JC?? can anyone verify this? It is also $50 cheaper...
__________________
<img src='http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/velocity318/test2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Kenwood KDC-MP822 h/u, H&amp;R race springs, Bilstein sport shocks, Rondell 17x8 wheels, Toyo proxes 225/45, TMS camber arms, rolled rear fenders, smoked corners, smoked sidemarkers, smoked taillights, Cosmo cold air intake, ///M pedals, clutch stop, parking light delete, license plate delete, black roundel overlays, tint
VeLoCiTy318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 01:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Car:
Posts: 5
Photos:
losichu is an unknown quantity at this point
I have a 95 318ti with the Dinan chip and I am not sure if I like it. Its better than the auto authority aftermarket chip that I had, but I didn't really notice much of a difference. I saw my fuel mileage go down and my check engine come on occasionally after driving at high speeds a couple of hours. It did eliminate the 120mph governor, however the car now has a harder time getting there than it did with the stock chip. I don't know why this is and Dinan wasn't much help. They keep saying its everything but their chip, I say its the chip because I never got a check engine light with the stock chip. I have mixed feelings about the Dinan chip, but since I snapped a pin off the stock chip, I'm stuck with it until I can resoder another pin onto the chip. And the chip is not exactly plug and play, BMW or Dinan have to program it with your car's start code or the car will not turn on either.
losichu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 02:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
i think autotechnica has tried both if not more.. PM him or maybe he'll chime in to this thread.
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 05:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
EuroBeem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jersey
Car:
Posts: 322
Photos:
EuroBeem is an unknown quantity at this point
hey guys with the chip do you only have to use 91 or could you also use like 93.....what gas station sells 91 also because I usually go to exxon and they only sell 87, 89, and 93
EuroBeem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 05:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
VeLoCiTy318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 240
Photos:
VeLoCiTy318 is an unknown quantity at this point
you can use 91 and above
__________________
<img src='http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/velocity318/test2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Kenwood KDC-MP822 h/u, H&amp;R race springs, Bilstein sport shocks, Rondell 17x8 wheels, Toyo proxes 225/45, TMS camber arms, rolled rear fenders, smoked corners, smoked sidemarkers, smoked taillights, Cosmo cold air intake, ///M pedals, clutch stop, parking light delete, license plate delete, black roundel overlays, tint
VeLoCiTy318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 09:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Car: 1994 325is
Posts: 1,071
Photos:
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
I have the Turnermotorsport Conforti chip for my 325is and love it.

Here is a review of it

http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/inde...howtopic=34069

and here is a do it yourself install and how to check the ECU number which you will probably need to order the chip.

http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/inde...howtopic=34068
__________________
<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 10:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
tomctx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Georgia
Car:
Posts: 693
Photos:
tomctx is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by EuroBeem@Apr 12 2005, 06:38 PM
hey guys with the chip do you only have to use 91 or could you also use like 93.....what gas station sells 91 also because I usually go to exxon and they only sell 87, 89, and 93
[snapback]331065[/snapback]
I fill up at the 93 pump. If you wanted to go to the trouble, you could fill up with half 89 and half 93. It would give you 91 octane.
__________________
1995 325I, window tint, K&N, debaffled airbox, BMW #104 wheels, Nighthawk low beams, smoked side markers, smoked corners, smoked taillights, M3 stlye heated mirrors, various interior bits, Bosal cat-back.
tomctx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Info On Performance Chips From Ebay Vahan 3-Series (E21, E30) 7 03-03-2005 11:53 PM
E34 535i Sport Performance Chips? jmwilde 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 10-22-2004 01:01 AM
Performance Chips 93 325i 3-Series (E36) 25 10-02-2004 05:28 PM
Performance chips silverlea 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 05-03-2004 10:00 PM
Performance chip appollo 3-Series (E36) 11 12-20-2003 12:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.