Performance Chip - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 04:39 AM
/Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
huyatgr is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Performance Chip

I replaced the performance chip on my 1994 325i E36. All seemed to go well, until putting the DME back into place. That's when I touched to DME housing to the positive battery lead and threw a spark! I know, always disconnect the battery. I will never ever forget again. But now what? A salvaged DME is $250. Is that my best option, or may there be a more simple fix (resetting computer, checking fuses, surge protector inside the DME)?
huyatgr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 03:54 PM
Captain... Savvy ?
 
Jack Dabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Barnsley UK
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Jack Dabsy will become famous soon enough
Garage
Cheapest options first mate... Do the reset (Battery) first...
If no-go then maybe open-up the DME and check for "Tracking" or failing joints...
By "arc"-ing the unit, you might have killed a transistor or two inside the unit... Maybe not, we don't know yet !


Eso es todo!
Please press the "REP" button if you are happy with your response/answer...

Please JOIN, or just have a look... Its Totally FREE...
BMW Part Market

BMW Online Manuals (TIS)

New Member ?

Last edited by Jack Dabsy; 10-20-2011 at 03:56 PM.
Jack Dabsy is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 04:12 PM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
beewee is on a distinguished road
can i also put a chip on my 318i? 1996 m43.
will it do any good if I dont change the intake?
beewee is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 04:15 PM
Captain... Savvy ?
 
Jack Dabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Barnsley UK
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Jack Dabsy will become famous soon enough
Garage
Yes you can chip it or re-map it... My advice is to do all of your mods (if you want any) and then get a chip/re-map (re-map is best)...
You can get some beneficial MPG from a re-map while even gaining some "horses" !! Expensive though...


Eso es todo!
Please press the "REP" button if you are happy with your response/answer...

Please JOIN, or just have a look... Its Totally FREE...
BMW Part Market

BMW Online Manuals (TIS)

New Member ?
Jack Dabsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e30 performance chip Mn325iX 3-Series (E21, E30) 0 03-23-2009 09:18 PM
Performance chip recommendations? Turner/Conforti ECU chip? agtur2001 3-Series (E36) 2 01-10-2007 09:31 PM
Performance Chip bimmer_boy Classifieds Sell & Buy 1 10-15-2004 07:49 PM
performance chip for an E28 cvedral 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 10-17-2003 01:59 PM
Performance Chip Drinnit 3-Series (E36) 0 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome