Odom Reprogram - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-05-2004, 09:02 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Anyone know of a tool that will let me re program my odometer or do I have to go to the stealer for that?
Brian325i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 10-05-2004, 09:35 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
stealer.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 10-06-2004, 01:03 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
RedlinedRU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Radford, Virginia
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
RedlinedRU is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to RedlinedRU
is that legal?


<span style='color:green'>
AMG can't build an NA engine that can compete with M engines, so they stick in a supercharger and say their cars are faster. BMW could simply do the same, but they don't out of principle.</span>
RedlinedRU is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 10-06-2004, 01:41 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
if he is just changing the cluster from one car to another sure...

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 10-07-2004, 06:33 PM
5th Gear Member
 
325isBaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
325isBaby is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to 325isBaby
If you are changing the Cluster you will have to take it to the dealer to have the Cluster Coded to match the car unless you want the manipulation dot to appear in the mileage area of the new cluster.

http://www.myspace.com/330xigirl
Come see me at MySpace
325isBaby is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 10-07-2004, 06:53 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Ok...well I don't want to change clusters per say...but I do want the stock gauges back with red or orange needles. The guy I bought my bmw from had some cheap ebay gauges put in...and I don't like them at all. I guess it would be easier to just buy a used cluster and transfer the gauges.
Brian325i is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 10-07-2004, 08:29 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
talk to the stealership and see what they say. they will have an answer for you on how its done and what could be done.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2004, 09:04 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
SemiPerfect is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
If you are changing the Cluster you will have to take it to the dealer to have the Cluster Coded to match the car unless you want the manipulation dot to appear in the mileage area of the new cluster.
How much would it cost to get the whole cluster replaced if the odometer on mine does not work anymore? And does the car still keep recording my mileage if my odometer isnt working?
SemiPerfect is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 10-11-2004, 11:02 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I don't think the car would still keep counting mileage if your whole cluster isn't working...the odometer is digital...therefore recorded by a computer. To find out how much it would cost...go ask a dealer or else search ebay...it varies. I would guess around 250-300$ at dealer though.
Brian325i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome