BMW Werkz banner

newbie looking for advice please help

2K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  n1knightmare 
#1 ·
hi i am new to bmw's all together. well my grandfather has a 91 733i and my uncle has a 84 320i and my other uncle has a 04 545i. But all i have done is ridden in my grandfathers car which is in mint condition.He takes care of it a lot.

Ok i am looking for my first car.I am 20 years old and I am college student in the day and I work at night. I make like $ 1150 dollars a month. I want a 318i or a 318is because gas prices are high.My question is can I afford to maintain and service a 93-97 bmw 318i or 318is without going broke with my current income? I would service it a specialized bmw independent mechanic, cheaper than the dealer. ???

My whole family has told me that I am a idiot and hard headed and that I will not be able to maintain and service a bmw and it will probably end up as a lawn adornment.Are they right?

I am hell bent on getting a bmw but dont know if financially i can do it.
I would be glad if you guys could tell me on average how much do you need monthly to maintain these type of cars.

If i can afford to maintain these cars, then I could ask you for your advice on these cars i was looking at and wondering which is better.

car #1 : 1994 325i mileage:164,000 5 speed $4,400
car# 2 : 1993 318is mileage 99,000 5 speed $4,995

What should the price range be for a decent well maintained 93-95 bmw 3 series in good condition with no work needed with normal mileage?

I am new, thanks and have a great day

See less See more
#2 ·
For the price range, go to kbb.com or some other simliar site, it will give you a good idea for what to look for. I would look for a 1995 318i or 318is. The lower the milegae the better for you as far as maintiance. If you do your homework and get a good clean, well maintianed car, you should be able to keep up with the maintiace needs. Just make sure you have 1k that you can keep around just in case.

#3 ·