BMW Werkz banner

newbie alarm question

2K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  fresh328 
#1 ·
Can someone help me with what I think should be a simple question? I bought a used 1998 series BMW three years ago from a private seller. This morning, the battery is dead, so after a jump start I get the battery replaced. As I am trying to leave Sears, the alarm goes off and I can't start my engine.

I didn't even know I had an alarm- I had been driving the car for three years. The old seller never mentioned it (and the seller was not the original owner so may not have known either), and I do not have the key fob for the car. After maybe half an hour of randomly pressing what I think the valet button is up and down (and I don't know which is the proper setting for the switch so if someone could tell me I would really appreciate it), I am able to start the car and drive home. The stereo doesn't work and says something like "code waiting" or waiting for code.

1) How do I turn the alarm off? I suspect it is a BMW alarm system because I now notice that there is a small white decal on the rear driver side door that says it is protected by a BMW system. I just want to drive it the way I did for the past few years.

2) How do I get the stereo code? I suppose I have to go back to the dealer for the code? If they will charge me for the time, should I just pull it out myself? I noticed that there are little screw or allen wrench holes.

3) Does this mean if I get the key fob I now have a working alarm system?

4) which direction should I keep the valet switch?

Thanks for any advice any of you can offer.

See less See more
#2 ·
raido code should be with your manual and stuff. if it isnt pull the raido and ask the dealer for the code. you may have to take it and your car in but the shouldn't charge for labour at that point.

if you get a fob. you should be able to program it to have a working alarm

i know nothing about the valet switch...

#5 ·