new alternator 140amp(hurry help) - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2006, 09:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Car:
Posts: 59
Photos:
moe_j is an unknown quantity at this point
new alternator 140amp(hurry help)

hey guys,
please please some body help here. long story short. i instal new alternator today on my 325i 94. the new one is 140amps and old one was 80amps.
and after i was done puting that alternator i wanted to start the car. but i had to get jump start, car did start with jump start and got shut off by it self after 2sec and after that i could'nt start my car at all not even with jump start from another car. it looks like dont have enogh bost to crank the starter or engine. or maybe i put 140amps alternator? i dont know im kinnda pissed off work all day on my car and nothing happened.
please help me out any suggetion guys, please hurry i dont have another car to drive
thnx : : :
moe_j is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2006, 02:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
hmm did you take the intake off? i bet you might have put the Mass air flow backwards
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 07:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
mehumming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mildura Australia
Car:
Posts: 91
Photos:
mehumming is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to mehumming Send a message via Yahoo to mehumming
If you disconnected your battery you may still have a loose connection ...
When you try and start the engine large amounts of electrical current are drawn from the battery through the leads, if one or both leads are loose you can get those results...
check leads?
faulty alt?
Personaly i have rebuilt alternators and if faulty, they can load the motor with no output and stall motors >>..

good luck, Nathan.
mehumming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Car:
Posts: 59
Photos:
moe_j is an unknown quantity at this point
i didnt take off the intake but i did disconected the air filter box from the intake but it still conected with leads under the filter box. one question
b+ wire one the alternator is positive?and
d is negetive? im just making sure if i put them right. or wat would happened if i put them wrong. please help me out here
thnx agian
moe_j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 12:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
do you tihnk you put the leads on wrong? im not too sure what would happen to be honest.. one binding post is bigger than the other, as is the "O" ring connectors on teh wires, (ones bigger than the other)..
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Car:
Posts: 59
Photos:
moe_j is an unknown quantity at this point
hey furious thnx for the reply tho. every thing was fine. all i had to do is just give a little gas whille i was starting the car after that it was fine car is runing
perfect, even i noticed car is runing more smoother than the stock 80amps alternaotr. i dunno maybe its only me. cause i know i put 140amps alternator. it just in my mind. but i do felt little bit diffrence in smoothness.
tnx again
moe_j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 05:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
glad it was something easy, lol i thought it would be something difficult, i didnt post the easy possiblities
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.