Needles - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2004, 05:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
schnitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Car:
Posts: 95
Photos:
schnitz is an unknown quantity at this point
I was doing 80mph 2 days ago on the motorway when suddenly all the needles in the gauge cluster dropped for a fraction of a second and it not only happened once but around 5 times and then it went away. weird thing was there was no drop in power or even anything. it just looked like I turned the ignition off and on again before the needles went haflway down to zero. It happend again yesterday under the same circumstances and then it went away again. Have anyone experienced this before and if so how'd you fix it. thanks in advance
schnitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-21-2004, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
your gauge pod is starting to go defective you may need a whole new one. however if you can live with the problem for now then do so, i have personally lived with it for a half year now and ive gotten use to it. the damn thing stays on more than off.
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Keep it Copacetic
 
///M Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO ||| Los Angeles, CA
Car: 1995 BMW M3
Posts: 9,481
Photos:
///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ///M Power
LOL yes it is a bit disturbign to soemtimes see my gas gauge needle pointing straigt down...but i can live with it.
__________________

1995 BMW M3 Turbo - Dakar/Black
///M Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 09:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
schnitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Car:
Posts: 95
Photos:
schnitz is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks guys. I'm relieved to know that it's nothing major.
schnitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 11:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
well it can be if it shuts off for a good period of time and your unaware of your gas level, and you could have the outside chance of overheating and not knowing it.
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
eloff19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toledo, OH
Car:
Posts: 236
Photos:
eloff19 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to eloff19
my question is about my needles being off....i was oon a trip, and my friend was following, for a while i was cruising at 90 (on the speedo) i called him and he said his car said 80...i hit reset on the speed on the obc and it said something like 85...its not off this much through the whole range but i have the performance package 16's on my car, would that be the reason?
eloff19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 10:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Car: 2008 128i
Posts: 2,718
Photos:
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
yeah. that would be why yer off. the tires being diffrent can/will do that.
__________________
2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 10:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Keep it Copacetic
 
///M Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO ||| Los Angeles, CA
Car: 1995 BMW M3
Posts: 9,481
Photos:
///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ///M Power
It cannot, because they are still in overall view the same size as the stock one, especially considering yours are stock also. Chances are your OBC, and most others, Is stupid. they are not as accurate, just check the spedometer u lazy bum
__________________

1995 BMW M3 Turbo - Dakar/Black
///M Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
eloff19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toledo, OH
Car:
Posts: 236
Photos:
eloff19 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to eloff19
Quote:
Originally posted by ///M Power@Feb 24 2004, 02:02 AM
It cannot, because they are still in overall view the same size as the stock one, especially considering yours are stock also. Chances are your OBC, and most others, Is stupid. they are not as accurate, just check the spedometer u lazy bum
haha well my point with the obc was that it showed a different reading than my speedometer (which i happen to like looking at better anyway...)
eloff19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 07:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Car: 2008 128i
Posts: 2,718
Photos:
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
get a GPS and see what it says and compare between the diffrent readings.
__________________
2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 05:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Car:
Posts: 2
Photos:
mak2204 is an unknown quantity at this point
I had a similar problem to this...
I drive a BMW E36 320i L (1994) 75000miles
I noticed afew months back when driving at around 40-45mph steady speed and no ramps in the road, that all my needles starting flicking for a brief second. Very strange no drop in power or anything. Its like there is a serge of some kind which made them flicker. I have noticed it more now. when it does flicker it does it like 5 or 6 times & sorts it's self out.
SO THIS ISNT A MAJOR PROBLEM I AM ASSUMING FROM THIS FORUM...
I need to be sure of this as I am giving my car in for gas conversion.

Please reply
MAK
mak2204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 06:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
-pimpin328is-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 367
Photos:
-pimpin328is- is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by mak2204+Apr 6 2005, 04:59 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mak2204 @ Apr 6 2005, 04:59 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'>I had a similar problem to this...
I drive a BMW E36 320i L (1994) 75000miles
I noticed afew months back when driving at around 40-45mph steady speed and no ramps in the road, that all my needles starting flicking for a brief second. Very strange no drop in power or anything. Its like there is a serge of some kind which made them flicker. I have noticed it more now. when it does flicker it does it like 5 or 6 times & sorts it's self out.
SO THIS ISNT A MAJOR PROBLEM I AM ASSUMING FROM THIS FORUM...
I need to be sure of this as I am giving my car in for gas conversion.

Please reply
MAK
[snapback]327013[/snapback]
[/b]



<!--QuoteBegin-Furious
@Feb 21 2004, 08:09 AM
your gauge pod is starting to go defective you may need a whole new one. however if you can live with the problem for now then do so, i have personally lived with it for a half year now and ive gotten use to it. the damn thing stays on more than off.
[snapback]86292[/snapback]
[/quote]
__________________
Mods: Tint, Euro Tails, Smoked corners and Side Markers, E46 Style Shadow Grill, 18&quot; M3 Replicas, M3 Exhaust, Low Beam Silver Stars
-pimpin328is- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 07:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Car:
Posts: 2
Photos:
mak2204 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Furious,Feb 21 2004, 08:09 AM
your gauge pod is starting to go defective you may need a whole new one. however if you can live with the problem for now then do so, i have personally lived with it for a half year now and ive gotten use to it. the damn thing stays on more than off.
[snapback]86292[/snapback]
[snapback]327050[/snapback]
[/quote]

Does any one know how much this would cost... and what the part looks like, is it easy to change.
MAK
mak2204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 07:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
i did a DIY on how to change the cluster, the part isnt expensive, the only thing you need to do is take it to BMW so they can covert your data onto the new cluster. really easy to do
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which should I do ? Gauge needles. Torque 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 10-10-2005 05:43 PM
Needles Kevin325i 3-Series (E36) 14 09-02-2004 04:18 PM
Red Needles 2004_325Ci 3-Series (E46, E90) 2 08-02-2004 02:32 AM
red needles for the gauges AZ325Ci 3-Series (E36) 20 05-15-2003 02:30 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.