NEED OPINIONS .. PLZZZ HELPPPPP - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-28-2004, 06:39 PM
1st Gear Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
p3rsian is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
ok ... so as i have been writing about this problem for 2 weeks i still havent fixed my car.
so basically 2 engine cylinders are not firing .
cylinders 2 and 4
i read in bentley that the order for m42 engine is cylinder 1 then 3 then 2 /4.
so i was gonna first test to see if fuel is coming in by checking the fuel injectors. but maan i gotta take off the manifold and im a newb at this stuff.
so i dont think its the injectors because ... 1- i doubt that all of a sudden 2 of the injectors stop working and specially the ones that are fired last.
2- i dont think that they can be clogged so much that it wont let the engine fire.
when i went to the mechanic he said the error is low spark ..
but when the car is running and when i take off the wire for cylinder lets say 2 , when i put it back in a little bit but not all the way in i here tick tick tick .. meaning its getting spark ..
is there such thing as low spark ? if it sparks it sparks right ?
i changed my plugs and when the mechanic looked at them he said its the coil pack and ecu because i dunoo something like the spark plugs arent fully engaged or something.. does this sound right to you guys ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 07-28-2004, 07:24 PM
1st Gear Member

(Thread Starter)
ok here is the thing also ....
1st mechanic which i took it said the ignition coil must be changed with the wires. he changed them both , and same problem , then he said that its either the computer or the fuel injectors.