Manual vs Automatic - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 12-23-2003, 09:01 AM
Neutral Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Pino is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up

Im a noob to driving at the moment....im almost about to get my licence. I've never driven nor have i been in a car where someone isdriving MANUAL. It can't be that hard but i was wondering- is it more fun than a pain in the ass or should i just go with Auto. the whole downshift on turns seems like a pain . How long will u get used to it? thanx!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Professional1.JPG
Views:	27
Size:	153.3 KB
ID:	5116  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 12-23-2003, 09:24 AM
n00b

Cliff is an unknown quantity at this point
If you've never driven before, I suggest you practice on automatic and get used to the roads for a while before trying manual. When you feel comfortable with automatic, you can learn manual ... it really isn't that hard but at first it will be. You get used to it pretty fast (it'll take you maybe a week). I prefer manual because you really get the feel of your car and it is fun Hope that helps you out buddy.

Take care,
Cliff
#3 (permalink) Old 12-23-2003, 09:34 AM
350z

bigred318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bigred318 Send a message via Yahoo to bigred318
i drive an auto right now, and its alright, not the best but alright, my truck is a stick however, (whihc would dominate on my car) haha so i get my share of driving a stick, when i get my 325 it will be a stick too, im getting sick of the auto, cant race, just not as fun
#4 (permalink) Old 12-23-2003, 09:42 AM
5th Gear Member