M3 instrument cluster - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-01-2006, 09:02 PM
1st Gear Member
 
nobrakese36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: LA california or montebello
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
nobrakese36 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to nobrakese36
(Thread Starter)
M3 instrument cluster

Hello, is it possible to put a m3 cluster in a 1993 318is, I know it fits, but does it read it properly(engine speed on tach),is it a plug in?, do you need to changer anything?
thanks
nobrakese36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-02-2006, 08:15 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bad man working is an unknown quantity at this point
You need to code it for the engine variant
bad man working is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-02-2006, 07:02 PM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
yes it fits in no problem , but like bad man said ,you need to code it, so it tells you what your original mileage is.

Furious is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 11:48 PM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Not really...you can buy the cluster used of course..but don't swap the whole cluster...just swap the guages/dials which is the only difference between the M# and the regular E36s...the M3 guage dials have red stalks and higher RPM#s...



the regular E36 have white stalks and lower RPM#s,




yeah so you open the cluster and it separates into three parts.
1. The back- this is where your odometer and memory info for your car is kept. don't switch this.

2. The middle bit- This the guages/dials. You swap this bit out...the M3 will
have the red stalks and your E36 will have the white stalk.

3. The glass/plastic housing- You can swap this if you wish...but this is identical between the M3 and the regular E36 car...


This guy is selling the M3 cluster on ebay for $75. Which is the average price these clusters sell for on ebay. Don't pay more than $100.00 for a used M3 cluster.

see link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1995-...-M3-CLUSTER-W-
76K_W0QQitemZ8027268291QQcategoryZ3
3675QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Delmarco is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 11:55 PM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
here is when i did my guages:


middle guages.

front case

back computer/odometer.

Delmarco is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-04-2006, 10:48 PM
1st Gear Member
 
nobrakese36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: LA california or montebello
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
nobrakese36 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to nobrakese36
(Thread Starter)
cool, wont the rpm be off because the measurements between them are different sizes, also the needles just come off? probably do this!! thanks DEL
nobrakese36 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 01-05-2006, 02:32 AM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobrakese36
cool, wont the rpm be off because the measurements between them are different sizes, also the needles just come off? probably do this!! thanks DEL
nah, you ar enot swapping the needle you are swapping the middle piece.

I don't think those needles can come off...

I'm also not sure how the RPMs would work out after the swap either. But I would reccomend that trying won't be too bad. Worst that can happen is you over rev the car...but I've never seen my RPM needle go past 6 in the 2 years I've been driving my BMW.


I've seen a DIY where some uses reddish nail polish to paint over the needles and it looked pretty good.

it's in our DIY PAGE LINKS section...(the section with links to external websites that have DIYs)

Delmarco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: E39,E38,X5 Instrument Cluster Speedometer nit78 Classifieds Sell & Buy 1 09-14-2009 09:19 AM
E39 Instrument Cluster replacement mileage questions BaksTab 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 9 10-20-2007 04:06 AM
Onboard Computer / Instrument Cluster Malfunction newtman 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 12-02-2005 08:18 PM
Instrument Cluster Wiring spinkb 3-Series (E21, E30) 6 03-06-2005 08:39 AM
Instrument cluster removal shaman97 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 07-01-2004 03:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome