M3 Cams Install..help Help Me Pls> - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2005, 07:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Car:
Posts: 457
Photos:
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
Hello fellas...I've just installed 95m3 cams into my 94' 325is...After the long long day...my mechanic got everything installed. Just to double check everything we hand cranked the motor (not with the key) and we encounter a problem...it seems the m3 cams have bit larger diameter shaft... so when we just barely tighten down the bearing caps(just barely--not even specs. tighten), we then hand cranked it over/rotating......it doesn't turn! TOO tight, so then we losen the bearing cap to just hand/finger tighten (dangerous) and cranked it over...it spins! (Mind you its just finger tighten, bearing cap will come off). We then hand tighten the BC, JUST A LITTLE bit and still won't turn......Cutting it short. The rough/rugged part of the center camshaft is rubbing severely with the CAMHOUSING ( this is the area where serial numbers etc. are written on... the LOBES are okay, the area where the BEARING CAPS sits on are Okay...its the non functional part thats rubbing with the camshaft housing.... DOES ANY1 UNDERSTAND ME?..... My dilema is....Did I get the CORRECT Cams? I know this swap has been done many times....so where do I go from here?...I DO NOT WANT TO GO/TURN BACK now and put in the stock 325 cams back in...that would mean I wasted hours and hundreds$$ almost getting to the 1k+....for nothing....please help me... Should I proceed and modify the camshafts? or even the camshaft housing?.... Shouldn't this be a direct fit?....Also when do get EVERYTHING PUT BACK TOGETHER...can I start my car with the stock CPU or should I go ahead and put in the TMS chip design for m3 cams on first before I crank it over with the key? ......Man my baby in having heart surgery...I hope I'm not giving it a WRONG heart....lol. Seriously my car is on the table(jackstands) and in need of your expertise/help...any info is helpful. Every moment is $$$$$$$$$$$$$$. I appreciate any help!!! Thanks in advance for your time....
__________________
<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2005, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mass
Car:
Posts: 1,302
Photos:
catalyst. is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to catalyst.
Doesnt sound to good, as far as i know its supposed to be a driect swap using s50 cams.

bump for you.
__________________
catalyst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
B_w.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonton
Car: turbo e36
Posts: 421
Photos:
B_w. is an unknown quantity at this point
are you sure you have the right cams? get your mechanic to check the part number to see if you maybe have s52 cams. hope you can solve this problem.
__________________
turbo 2.8
cp pistons, eagle rods, gt35r, tec3
B_w. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Car: 2003 M5
Posts: 1,562
Photos:
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
yeah, it does sound like you got the s52 cams on their bummer
__________________

VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 06:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Car:
Posts: 457
Photos:
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
Lets say it I got gipped and it IS a s52 vs s50...the cams need to be machine down(the rugged non function part etc..) Will the cams still work like the s50 since its basically identical? gain power still? Man I've looking at $1000 that just a FUCKEN INSTALL god dammit if this I ever get to meet this fucken lying ass kid that sold me this Headache and grief...who know what krazi Idea....I might do....Harm for sure...sssssssssooooooooooooo mmmmaddddddddddd.....soooooooooooo aaaaannnggggryyyyy!!! I feel like beating something up! Fuccen A. .....man............ggggggggrrrrrrrrrrrrhhhhhhhhhh hhh aaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh........................ .............Okay....I'm alright now.....thanks for all you inputs...REALLY APPRECIATED! ..........................................Sighing.
__________________
<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 06:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Car: 2003 M5
Posts: 1,562
Photos:
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
but do ask your mechanic to chk if they are s50 or s52
__________________

VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cams Issue Rooz 3-Series (E36) 8 09-05-2005 03:23 PM
Tms Chip And M3 Cams kyle_baker 3-Series (E36) 23 02-18-2005 08:21 AM
Custom Ground Cams (streetable) For Sale Kowalski 3-Series (E21, E30) 11 01-20-2005 09:39 AM
Custom Ground Cams (streetable) For Sale Kowalski Classifieds Sell & Buy 2 01-15-2005 08:19 PM
GTC Cams anyone have them??? Zq-8_dawg 3-Series (E36) 12 08-04-2004 10:13 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.