M3 Cams - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2005, 08:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Car:
Posts: 457
Photos:
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
He fellas...I just recently purchase a set of USED 95 M3 camshafts...seems to be in good condition etc. My ? is how can you tell if it IS...from a 95 m3 s50 not s52 and how can you tell if it is a M3 cams? from stock e36?......These are going to be installed into and 94'325is....How did everyone get theres installed? DEALERSHIPS?? What kind of damage to my pockets? Does anyone know of any shops here in the near dallas/fort worth area? Any help is appreciated! Thanks you very much for your time.

v/r
Edee
__________________
<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2005, 08:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Silencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Africa
Car:
Posts: 256
Photos:
Silencer is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Silencer
answer this mans questions. when i get my 325 i wanna know how to get them in aswell. i probably dont need to mention how crap the search function on these forums is..but i will...

ITS CRAP!
__________________
<img src='http://members.optusnet.com.au/drpsi/sig.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
South Africa - Home to the 3 series, and myself
Silencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Car:
Posts: 457
Photos:
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
ditto
__________________
<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
k2c69n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 299
Photos:
k2c69n is an unknown quantity at this point
yeah, i am interested in m3 cams, i see that they are pretty damn expensive.. can someone give me the info on them. thanks..
__________________
*If your not living on the edge your taking up too much space*

'98 328is
k2c69n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Car: 2001 M5
Posts: 3,525
Photos:
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
Send a message via ICQ to jrhaile Send a message via AIM to jrhaile Send a message via MSN to jrhaile
there is a topic that was just discussed which gives lots of details... search for it and you'll have most of your answers answered.
__________________
jrhaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Car:
Posts: 37
Photos:
red325ix is an unknown quantity at this point
Sorry to hijack......kind of on topic. Does anyone know if m3 cams can be added to a non-vanos m50 engine?
__________________
'92 325i
-17" Staggered ///M Wheels w/ Michelin Pilot Sports - M3 Exhaust - Custom HID Install in Euro Ellipsoids - e39 M5 rear lip - Cross Drilled Zimmermans - Paint Matched bumpers and skirts - Euro Tails
red325ix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 12:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Silencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Africa
Car:
Posts: 256
Photos:
Silencer is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Silencer
^^^^ i like that question. Whats the answer. sorry to bring this alive again tho.
__________________
<img src='http://members.optusnet.com.au/drpsi/sig.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
South Africa - Home to the 3 series, and myself
Silencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 08:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Car:
Posts: 457
Photos:
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
Search engine SUCKS!!!! I don't think s50 cams will work on a NON-Vanos....I've read it somewhere. pretty sure it doesn't work...anyhow NO of me ?? are answered but thanks anyways....
__________________
<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 09:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
CiscoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey, USA
Car:
Posts: 2,195
Photos:
CiscoKid is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to CiscoKid
i believe that you have to replace the vanos unit along with the cams
__________________
CiscoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 11:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Car:
Posts: 18
Photos:
capslinky is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by CiscoKid@Mar 7 2005, 09:18 AM
i believe that you have to replace the vanos unit along with the cams
[snapback]305639[/snapback]
I don't think you have to. I just did a head gasket and i was talking to my mechanic about changing my cams, i didn't get the impression that you had to change the vanos unit. He did say that you would need all new lifters and what not though.
capslinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 03:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Car: 2003 M5
Posts: 1,562
Photos:
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
as far as replacing the cams, I would do it my self, it's not a hard job, it might be long, but it's not hard...

And yes, their recently was a topic about this... here:
http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/inde...howtopic=33640
__________________

VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 05:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Car:
Posts: 457
Photos:
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ROOZ!
__________________
<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 07:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Car: 2003 M5
Posts: 1,562
Photos:
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
Np
__________________

VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 11:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
B_w.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonton
Car: turbo e36
Posts: 421
Photos:
B_w. is an unknown quantity at this point
dont you require expensive tools to safely install the cams without damaging them? i dont think cams are the best thing to install yourself because it requires a lot of work.
__________________
turbo 2.8
cp pistons, eagle rods, gt35r, tec3
B_w. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 11:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mass
Car:
Posts: 1,302
Photos:
catalyst. is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to catalyst.
No you do not require any specific, or expensive, tools. You can use the pelican parts DIY to remove and install new cams without damaging them.

You will need a special camshaft locking tool if you need to adjust your cam timing though.
__________________
catalyst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cams Issue Rooz 3-Series (E36) 8 09-05-2005 03:23 PM
M3 Cams Install..help Help Me Pls> Eggrolled211 3-Series (E36) 5 03-21-2005 06:23 PM
Tms Chip And M3 Cams kyle_baker 3-Series (E36) 23 02-18-2005 08:21 AM
Custom Ground Cams (streetable) For Sale Kowalski 3-Series (E21, E30) 11 01-20-2005 09:39 AM
GTC Cams anyone have them??? Zq-8_dawg 3-Series (E36) 12 08-04-2004 10:13 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.