M3 Cams - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 03-04-2005, 08:18 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
He fellas...I just recently purchase a set of USED 95 M3 camshafts...seems to be in good condition etc. My ? is how can you tell if it IS...from a 95 m3 s50 not s52 and how can you tell if it is a M3 cams? from stock e36?......These are going to be installed into and 94'325is....How did everyone get theres installed? DEALERSHIPS?? What kind of damage to my pockets? Does anyone know of any shops here in the near dallas/fort worth area? Any help is appreciated! Thanks you very much for your time.

v/r
Edee

<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 03-04-2005, 08:54 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Silencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Silencer is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Silencer
answer this mans questions. when i get my 325 i wanna know how to get them in aswell. i probably dont need to mention how crap the search function on these forums is..but i will...

ITS CRAP!

<img src='http://members.optusnet.com.au/drpsi/sig.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
South Africa - Home to the 3 series, and myself
Silencer is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 03-04-2005, 01:07 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
ditto

<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 03-04-2005, 01:30 PM
1st Gear Member
 
k2c69n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
k2c69n is an unknown quantity at this point
yeah, i am interested in m3 cams, i see that they are pretty damn expensive.. can someone give me the info on them. thanks..

*If your not living on the edge your taking up too much space*

'98 328is
k2c69n is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 03-04-2005, 03:08 PM
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
there is a topic that was just discussed which gives lots of details... search for it and you'll have most of your answers answered.

jrhaile is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 03-04-2005, 04:24 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
red325ix is an unknown quantity at this point
Sorry to hijack......kind of on topic. Does anyone know if m3 cams can be added to a non-vanos m50 engine?

'92 325i
-17" Staggered ///M Wheels w/ Michelin Pilot Sports - M3 Exhaust - Custom HID Install in Euro Ellipsoids - e39 M5 rear lip - Cross Drilled Zimmermans - Paint Matched bumpers and skirts - Euro Tails
red325ix is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 12:52 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Silencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Silencer is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Silencer
^^^^ i like that question. Whats the answer. sorry to bring this alive again tho.

<img src='http://members.optusnet.com.au/drpsi/sig.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
South Africa - Home to the 3 series, and myself
Silencer is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 08:21 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Search engine SUCKS!!!! I don't think s50 cams will work on a NON-Vanos....I've read it somewhere. pretty sure it doesn't work...anyhow NO of me ?? are answered but thanks anyways....

<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 09:18 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
CiscoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
CiscoKid is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to CiscoKid
i believe that you have to replace the vanos unit along with the cams

CiscoKid is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 11:46 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
capslinky is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by CiscoKid@Mar 7 2005, 09:18 AM
i believe that you have to replace the vanos unit along with the cams
[snapback]305639[/snapback]
I don't think you have to. I just did a head gasket and i was talking to my mechanic about changing my cams, i didn't get the impression that you had to change the vanos unit. He did say that you would need all new lifters and what not though.
capslinky is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 03:30 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
as far as replacing the cams, I would do it my self, it's not a hard job, it might be long, but it's not hard...

And yes, their recently was a topic about this... here:
http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/inde...howtopic=33640


VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 05:36 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Eggrolled211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Eggrolled211 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ROOZ!

<img src='http://l00062.myspace.com/00062/50/89/62019805_m.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Eggrolled211 is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 07:24 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
Np


VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 11:22 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
B_w.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B_w. is an unknown quantity at this point
dont you require expensive tools to safely install the cams without damaging them? i dont think cams are the best thing to install yourself because it requires a lot of work.

turbo 2.8
cp pistons, eagle rods, gt35r, tec3
B_w. is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 11:56 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mass
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
catalyst. is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to catalyst.
No you do not require any specific, or expensive, tools. You can use the pelican parts DIY to remove and install new cams without damaging them.

You will need a special camshaft locking tool if you need to adjust your cam timing though.

catalyst. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cams Issue Rooz 3-Series (E36) 8 09-05-2005 03:23 PM
M3 Cams Install..help Help Me Pls> Eggrolled211 3-Series (E36) 5 03-21-2005 06:23 PM
Tms Chip And M3 Cams kyle_baker 3-Series (E36) 23 02-18-2005 08:21 AM
Custom Ground Cams (streetable) For Sale Kowalski 3-Series (E21, E30) 11 01-20-2005 09:39 AM
GTC Cams anyone have them??? Zq-8_dawg 3-Series (E36) 12 08-04-2004 10:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome