Location Of O2 Sensors - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-04-2005, 01:35 PM
n00b
 
J.Bassler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
J.Bassler is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hi guys,

Everywhere I look on the tech data they are telling me that I have 4 O2 sensors on the car. I have confirmed that the O2 sensor is causing my check engine light. Under the car I only can locate 2 sensors, 1 in the first bank(cylinders 1 thru 3) located right before the converter, the 2 one is right behind the converter. #1 has the shorter harness, #2 has the longer harness. I cannot locate anymore sensors. I don't have the tech manual on the car yet and I can't find any pics on the web as far as location of O2 sensors on the car. Can you guys help me out?

Thanks
J.Bassler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-04-2005, 01:41 PM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
first off what year car do you have?

Furious is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-04-2005, 01:41 PM
n00b
 
J.Bassler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
J.Bassler is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
1998
J.Bassler is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-04-2005, 02:11 PM
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
they're on your exaust headers.. both of them

jrhaile is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-04-2005, 02:22 PM
n00b
 
J.Bassler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
J.Bassler is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I looked on both headers. towards the bottom end of each header I saw a hole with a bolt in each of them. Like they were capped off. No sensor to either one of them. Where exactly on the headers would they be?
J.Bassler is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 02-04-2005, 02:59 PM
n00b
 
J.Bassler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
J.Bassler is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
The bolts look factory. There are no wires in the area or harnesses.
J.Bassler is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 02-04-2005, 03:01 PM
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
well then someone plugged your holes.. that's where they're supposed to be unless someone did some sort of obd conversion.. like I have an obd2 engine but I had to plus those holes when I converted to obd1...

jrhaile is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 02-04-2005, 03:12 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
YOu should be able to see them, unless the holes have been plugged for some reason as said above. Two sensors are positioned prior to the cat, the other two are on the other side of it.

drz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Location of ICV on M44 318iS engine Rich328 3-Series (E36) 5 09-16-2005 10:55 PM
O2 Sensors fushuman 3-Series (E36) 5 02-16-2005 08:22 PM
Wheel Sensors tgwinn5 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 11-28-2004 11:15 PM
E36 320i Fuel Gauge Fuse Location??? Markyb87 3-Series (E36) 1 07-15-2004 05:41 PM
318i brake sensor (and other sensors) abajaj 3-Series (E46, E90) 1 05-05-2004 12:16 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome