instrument cluster question - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2006, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
funtoos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Car:
Posts: 365
Photos:
funtoos is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to funtoos
instrument cluster question

the temperature gauge in my instrument cluster has been playing tricks recently...basically sometimes the needle works and sometimes it doesnt... if it doesn't, a moderate tap on the dash board will get it going again.. so i figured some loose connection somewhere...
therefore i took out the cluster to ensure that all connections were good...

after two days, it started doing the same thing again... now i m thinking about just replacing the whole cluster unless there is some other alternative (fixing)? is there?

second question is that if i replace the cluster, would it change the miles or anything on the car... i would think not cuz it is probably stored in the computer but just want to make sure before i do it... any other issues i should worry about before doing it? legal?

thanks
funtoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2006, 10:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sodium Chloride
 
saltshaker185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville Ky
Car: 95 M3
Posts: 3,762
Photos:
saltshaker185 is a splendid one to beholdsaltshaker185 is a splendid one to beholdsaltshaker185 is a splendid one to beholdsaltshaker185 is a splendid one to beholdsaltshaker185 is a splendid one to beholdsaltshaker185 is a splendid one to beholdsaltshaker185 is a splendid one to beholdsaltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to saltshaker185 Send a message via MSN to saltshaker185
i think the mileage stays with the cluster if i remember correctly...
saltshaker185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Car:
Posts: 3,677
Photos:
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
the mileage stays in the computer... so when u do swap out the cluster, u have the same mileage...

if a straight swap doesnt work, go to the dealer, and they will fix it..
__________________
-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 10:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Car:
Posts: 294
Photos:
Hamfisted is on a distinguished road
Stays in the ECU....

The E36 ECU records mileage. If the odometer and ECU differ in mileage you will get a little red LED lit up right next to the odometer mileage readout. Anybody familiar with BMW's will know what this means but someone not familiar with them will probably overlook it.






Mike
Hamfisted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
funtoos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Car:
Posts: 365
Photos:
funtoos is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to funtoos
so what you are saying is the mileage is stored in two places and changing the cluster with a different mileage will signal that the mileage is not accurate?
what will ultimately show up on the cluster? my true mileage from the ecu or the one from the swapped cluster?

if i wanted to fix that stupid gauge, what can I do?
funtoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 09:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
I am Teh Edumacator.
 
Teh Prof's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ATL, London, and Barcelona
Car: 1999 Dinan 540i/6, 1995 Dinan 749
Posts: 4,520
Photos:
Teh Prof has much to be proud ofTeh Prof has much to be proud ofTeh Prof has much to be proud ofTeh Prof has much to be proud ofTeh Prof has much to be proud ofTeh Prof has much to be proud ofTeh Prof has much to be proud ofTeh Prof has much to be proud ofTeh Prof has much to be proud ofTeh Prof has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to Teh Prof
I have no idea how to fix the gauge. See any loose wires anywhere?

When you replace a cluster, the cluster must be set to the correct mileage by a BMW dealer's computer. If it doesn't match the mileage in the ECU, the little red light comes on.
__________________


1999 E39 540i/6-VF Stage 1 S/C, Dinan exhaust, Dinan strut+shock braces, Dinan ltwt flywheel + clutch, Dinan Brembo BBK, Dinan monoball, H&R Springs, Koni Yellows, M5 sways, Dinan forged 18" wheels, &c.

1995 E38 740i. Highly modded. Faster than you.

Sold 2-28-07: 1997 E36 M3/4, 8-30-05 RIP 1997 528i


Lindsay fan club member.
Teh Prof is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E39 Instrument Cluster replacement mileage questions BaksTab 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 9 10-20-2007 04:06 AM
How to Refurbish E23 Instrument Cluster? dsmart5 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 6 04-30-2006 01:17 PM
Instrument cluster wire Bear 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 03-20-2006 10:42 PM
Instrument Cluster Wiring spinkb 3-Series (E21, E30) 6 03-06-2005 08:39 AM
Instrument cluster removal shaman97 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 07-01-2004 03:13 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.