Installation of Subs and Amps - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-28-2009, 06:16 PM
Neutral Member
 
ian3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ian3 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Installation of Subs and Amps

Hey my friend gave me a ten inch sub along with the amplifier. I just want a little more bass from the stock system. But I don't really know how to install the subwoofers and the amp through the stock unit. If someone could tell me directions or send a link on how to do this job that would be great.

Thanks,
Ian

///M
ian3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-28-2009, 06:35 PM
1st Gear Member
 
vincentmb615's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cape
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
vincentmb615 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to vincentmb615
you need a iec auloc which you bridge of the decklid speakers which is were your preouts come from the remote wire can go to the stock amp turn on ground in trunk and power to batt good luck

[94 325i two toned
vincentmb615 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-28-2009, 08:44 PM
Neutral Member
 
ian3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ian3 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
im confused....if you can or someone else can give me more specific instructions that 'd be good.

Thanks

///M
ian3 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-28-2009, 08:51 PM
1st Gear Member
 
vincentmb615's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cape
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
vincentmb615 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to vincentmb615
ok a iec autoloc is a converter that converters speaker wire to rca outputs which will go to the rca input on the amp the instructions to install that come with it best buy has them you splice into speaker wire all you do is go in and say you want to install subs off the stock hu the rem which stands for remote goes on the amp and to a source that has 12 volts when the key is on the batt wire goes to the batt and ground goes to bare metal in the trunk

[94 325i two toned
vincentmb615 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-28-2009, 10:17 PM
Neutral Member
 
ian3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ian3 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
I think they sell the iec autoloc converter at best buy. Is this it?
Scosche - 2-Channel Adjustable Line-Out Converter - Clear - LOC80

///M
ian3 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 03-01-2009, 02:22 AM
Mr. Clean
 
BimmerE39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Danbury, Connecticut
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BimmerE39 will become famous soon enough
Garage
I'm going to be honest with this one here, the sub more than likely won't sound too good. IEC's make it work but tuning everything in gets kind of complicated and IMO not worth it. Late 90's early '00 sound systems in BMW's sucked. I had one in my car and it was horrid so I know your pain.
BimmerE39 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 03-01-2009, 12:08 PM
Neutral Member
 
ian3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ian3 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
yea i think i am just going to leave my system stock until i can do it right because this seems a little cheap...i'd rather do it right...

Thanks for the help everyone,
Ian

///M
ian3 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 03-02-2009, 02:23 AM
Neutral Member
 
garbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
garbone is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to garbone


does the amp have high level inputs? i ran my amp for off the stock wiring and stereo for a year. had no problem with the sound. i just spliced into the wiring coming off the stock head unit.

But i have since replace my head unit with one that has RCA outs.

Im not a fan of the stock head unit and the business model was out of my price range. bought a head unit with lights that matched the stock lights almost perfectly for 120 and the harness adapter for 12 and some change. works great.
garbone is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 03-02-2009, 07:19 PM
1st Gear Member
 
vincentmb615's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cape
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
vincentmb615 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to vincentmb615
i havent had issue with a autoloc at all i put one in a cadillac sts due to the fact the door chime was in the speaker and all the speakers had amps woah i will never put a hu in one of those things thats a mess thats why we settled on a autoloc and it sounds good now in my 325i i had to run 4 wires for the rear speakers because something got screwed up with the stock amp but it wasnt a big deal save your money but i havent had a issue wit one

[94 325i two toned
vincentmb615 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: 2 RF Subs and 2Audiobahn Amps ooibhuskyoo Audio/Miscellaneous Auto Parts 0 05-08-2006 01:30 PM
Wtb Broken Amps, Subs, Decks, Etc. tplaya07 Audio and Electronics 1 07-27-2005 06:22 PM
got a set of spkr, subs & amps... dfantom Audio and Electronics 0 08-19-2004 02:42 PM
battery cranking amps jason325i 3-Series (E36) 0 02-11-2004 04:57 PM
72 AMPs? 130,000 watts? Nine 15 inch subs? GreenDragon Audio and Electronics 8 07-26-2003 09:06 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome