Install New Lights - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 05-13-2005, 07:40 PM
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I installed my new clear tails and get a brake light failure message. I have heard that the dealer can fix this for me, by reseting it. Is this true or what do I need to do?

Also My right light blinks really fast like it is about to go out, is this related to the above or not? Please respond it is Friday and they are only open a couple of hours tomorrow. Plus I have been without my car for a couple of weeks and want to drive it around. Will it hurt anything to drive it like this?

<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 05-13-2005, 09:05 PM
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Ok, I got help from another place. My stealth bulb in my smoked corners went out right after testing it. I put back in my orange(egg yolky) bulb and they all work fine now including no check light coming on. The back doesn't blink fast the front lights up fine. I can now drive it but have to replace the stealth bulbs. I believe Bavauto.com should be able to do that since i was testing them and did not drive with them in or anything.

<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 05-14-2005, 01:20 AM
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
UPDATE: I thought it was working fine, but now I get the check message again on my OBC. It says "tail light failure" but they are all working fine. Can the dealer reset this or how do I fix it?

<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 05-14-2005, 03:21 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
keikun is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by jshearer@May 13 2005, 11:20 PM
UPDATE: I thought it was working fine, but now I get the check message again on my OBC. It says "tail light failure" but they are all working fine. Can the dealer reset this or how do I fix it?
[snapback]344401[/snapback]
I have the same problem as you I have a set of German made white and red taillights and brand new set of I believe taiwan or chinese tailights also they identical look identical. I get the same message on my OBC when i turn on my tailights. I've changed new bulbs but still get the same problem. I've heard also that the dealer can reset this problem but I'm not certain.
keikun is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 05-14-2005, 05:35 AM
Gear Member
 
BeachBunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute BeachBunny has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally posted by keikun+May 14 2005, 01:21 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(keikun @ May 14 2005, 01:21 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-jshearer@May 13 2005, 11:20 PM
UPDATE:* I thought it was working fine, but now I get the check message again on my OBC.* It says "tail light failure" but they are all working fine.* Can the dealer reset this or how do I fix it?
[snapback]344401[/snapback]
I have the same problem as you I have a set of German made white and red taillights and brand new set of I believe taiwan or chinese tailights also they identical look identical. I get the same message on my OBC when i turn on my tailights. I've changed new bulbs but still get the same problem. I've heard also that the dealer can reset this problem but I'm not certain.
[snapback]344437[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]

Maybe I'm lost because my lights are all stock... I still have to ask... have you checked if it's a blown fuse?
BeachBunny is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 05-14-2005, 11:20 AM
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
wulley1 is an unknown quantity at this point
I've heard of cheap ebay taillights that caused the OBC to freak out. A dealer will not be able to reset this for you though. The OBC resets the fault codes everytime your turn your car off. The fault will stay until you fix the cause, ie your new taillights.
wulley1 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 05-14-2005, 07:35 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
WarNox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
WarNox is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by BeachBunny+May 14 2005, 04:35 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(BeachBunny @ May 14 2005, 04:35 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'>
Quote:
Originally posted by keikun@May 14 2005, 01:21 AM
<!--QuoteBegin-jshearer
Quote:
@May 13 2005, 11:20 PM
UPDATE: I thought it was working fine, but now I get the check message again on my OBC. It says "tail light failure" but they are all working fine. Can the dealer reset this or how do I fix it?
[snapback]344401[/snapback]

I have the same problem as you I have a set of German made white and red taillights and brand new set of I believe taiwan or chinese tailights also they identical look identical. I get the same message on my OBC when i turn on my tailights. I've changed new bulbs but still get the same problem. I've heard also that the dealer can reset this problem but I'm not certain.
[snapback]344437[/snapback]
Maybe I'm lost because my lights are all stock... I still have to ask... have you checked if it's a blown fuse?
[snapback]344446[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]


if it was a blown fuse the lights wouldnt work at all!

<img src='http://www.geocities.com/thereisnothinglikeabmw/mycar1.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
WarNox is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 05-14-2005, 11:56 PM
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
It is something related to a different resistance or similar. There is no real fix for it although it doesn't hurt anything to have the code on either. It is a "tail light failure" code and as long as I press the check button goes away in a couple of minutes. It only comes on at night when i turn my lights on and during the day is fine. All the lights work fine too. I also still get a "brake light failure" code if I have a bulb out. I am going to live with it, but let people know that if you try to cut corners be prepared for it. I even bought a better quality light and not a real cheap one of ebay. They are great looking and not cheap looking plastic. The light is better quality than some of the ebay ones too. So that is it, I get an error code and a good looking light for half the OEM price oh well I can spend the extra money on a good CAI.

<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 05-15-2005, 12:55 AM
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
wulley1 is an unknown quantity at this point
I believe it does have something to do with resistance. You did mention that it only trips at night. You might be able to put a resister in parrallel with the bulbs to lower the resistance that the obc see's. It might be worth a try if you're really determined to fix this.
wulley1 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 05-15-2005, 01:56 AM
1st Gear Member
 
dopeyx27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 312 - 626
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dopeyx27 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to dopeyx27
I had that problem before also. I found the perfect fix. If your taillights came with instructions, it should show that you have to actually get the tail light and cut of a piece of metal that is contacting each other. Its a fairly simple process, I would help you but I hate taking out my tail lights. Well ill try to explain it as simple as I could. Behind both of your tail lights, there should be metal plates all around it. On one of those metal plates, your supposed to cut off the connection between one of them on each of the tail lights. The process is also reversable, you could weld it back on if you would like. I hope this really helps you, I had that problem for like 1 week straight and I got so annoyed I actually read the instructions and found out what I did wrong. Let me know if you have any more questions.
dopeyx27 is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 05-15-2005, 01:58 AM
1st Gear Member
 
dopeyx27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 312 - 626
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dopeyx27 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to dopeyx27
Oh yea, dont even bother going to the dealer. If they try to fix it, most likely it would be temporary if they even could fix it.
dopeyx27 is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 05-15-2005, 04:36 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Slvr e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saratoga, CA
Posts: 3,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Slvr e39
Must be for older years, i put clears from bavauto on my 98' 328is and they work perfectly. Instantly

Dinan Stg 2 Phoenix Yellow M3
Slvr e39 is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 05-15-2005, 10:26 AM
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I know about the "cut the bridge" trick but these have no bridge to be cut. My only option is new lights or live with it. I am not going to worry about it and live with it. It is only at night and even then if I press the check button or wait a couple of minutes the error code goes away. Plus everything works fine.

Slvr - I would have bought from bavauto but they no longer sell the normal clear lights(looked online for a while and they don't show them anymore). They carry the new led ones. The dealer sells real OEM ones for $145 a light, and I did not want to spend $300 on lights.

<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 05-15-2005, 01:37 PM
1st Gear Member
 
dopeyx27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 312 - 626
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dopeyx27 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to dopeyx27
Just to let you know, mine were ebay ones. I got them for 70 shipped and they look fine to me. I hope your able to fix that problem cuz that dam error drove me crazy.
dopeyx27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Side-marker Lights BMWfiend 3-Series (E36) 2 03-15-2005 04:32 PM
fog lights vs. driving lights Silver4evr Bimmer Talk/Motorsports Talk 7 06-15-2004 11:16 AM
electrical of licence plate, rear side lights javieruz 3-Series (E21, E30) 1 03-14-2004 08:08 PM
Group Buy on e36 Euro crystal clear tail lights calm3 Classifieds Sell & Buy 13 04-26-2003 05:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome