How do I increase idle rpm's? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-20-2004, 11:13 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Here's the deal, my M3 clutch kit sometimes stalls my car when I drive it hard (clutch heats up) and the idle becomes very unstable. I've tried adjusting the idle by turning the screw on my throttle body. However, the idle will increase for about a minute, then all of a sudden it will drop back to normal idle RPM. Is the idle computer controlled and self-adjusting? I can't seem to raise it. Another method I was thinking of was finally getting around to installing my BMP adjustable fuel pressure regulator. I was thinking of increasing the fuel mixture a bit to bump the idle. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 06-20-2004, 02:29 PM
Super Moderator
 
dutchbmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SW Minnesota
Posts: 5,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute dutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to dutchbmw
The screw on the throttle body is for adjusting the CO %. You need to re-adjust that screw for the recommend exhaust fumes percentage. The idle cannot adjust because this is computer controlled, just what you said. I think the only possibility you have is to upgrade your cars DME software which costs a lot of dollars.

I have a (Dutch) technical book where all parts are explained from the Motronic computer who's fitted in all e36 BMWs. At this moment I've loaned it to a friend of my so I could tell you in detail about it.

As far as I know there's no way to increase the idle rpm. Good luck!

Pieter

BMW '96 M3 (SOLD)
June 2005 Car Of The Month!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torque
I was just dropped off here by aliens one day. They got bored with me.
dutchbmw is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 06-20-2004, 05:08 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Kevin325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kevin325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Kevin325i
Yeah, it's just a simple screw on the butterfly lever that moves it one a little bit to raise the idle. Have the car running, and slowly adjust till you get to a desired rpm.

Here's a picture of what you're looking for.

Kevin
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tb1.JPG
Views:	462
Size:	125.9 KB
ID:	9278  

Kevin (President TBEA)

&quot;WAAAAAAARRRRRIORS, come out to plaaaaay.&quot;
Kevin325i is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 06-20-2004, 05:09 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Kevin325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kevin325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Kevin325i
a little closer...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tb2.JPG
Views:	313
Size:	91.0 KB
ID:	9279  

Kevin (President TBEA)

&quot;WAAAAAAARRRRRIORS, come out to plaaaaay.&quot;
Kevin325i is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 06-20-2004, 07:42 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
That's the screw/nut I played with. The idle went up, then it automatically came back down reguardless of what position the screw was in. As Dutch mentioned the idle is computer controlled and automatic. I'm all out of ideas.

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 06-20-2004, 08:26 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Kevin325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kevin325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Kevin325i
Interesting, WTF is that stupid screw for then? Oh well

Kevin

Kevin (President TBEA)

&quot;WAAAAAAARRRRRIORS, come out to plaaaaay.&quot;
Kevin325i is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 06-20-2004, 09:32 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
As far as I knew it was for adjusting idle RPM's. However, Dutch says it's for adjusting CO %'s.

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 06-20-2004, 10:54 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
thekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson MS
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute
hehe... heres an idea. Because the gas pedal goes all the way to the floor... just push your floor mat forward a little bit so it puts the smallest amount of pressure on the gas pedal!!! for me... it happens to me all the time cuz short of tape or velcro theres no way to secure my matts.... so everyonce in i while I'll put the clutch in and the rpms will take off.... it's fun... but I checked just for you, and you can get it on there lightly enough for it to work. I know I know... but it may be your only option.
thekid is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 06-20-2004, 11:03 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by thekid@Jun 20 2004, 11:34 PM
hehe... heres an idea. Because the gas pedal goes all the way to the floor... just push your floor mat forward a little bit so it puts the smallest amount of pressure on the gas pedal!!! for me... it happens to me all the time cuz short of tape or velcro theres no way to secure my matts.... so everyonce in i while I'll put the clutch in and the rpms will take off.... it's fun... but I checked just for you, and you can get it on there lightly enough for it to work. I know I know... but it may be your only option.
ghettoness..

I think I'd rather live with my problem.

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 12:42 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
thekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson MS
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute
yeah.... so would i...but then again... my cd changer is duct taped in place in my trunk until the mount gets here....
thekid is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 01:01 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Speedy-325is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pole Position #1
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Speedy-325is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Speedy-325is Send a message via MSN to Speedy-325is Send a message via Yahoo to Speedy-325is
Idle problem...
Think it's a vacum leak??

The thread is on pg. 12.(sorry, i dont know how to link threads)
this one might help you.

i know the idle is comp. controlled but the cable that goes to the throttle body can get a bit to much slack in it. this slack CAN be adjusted manually.

let me know if u have questions.
Mark
Speedy-325is is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 12:49 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by Speedy-325is@Jun 21 2004, 01:41 AM
Idle problem...
Think it's a vacum leak??

The thread is on pg. 12.(sorry, i dont know how to link threads)
this one might help you.

i know the idle is comp. controlled but the cable that goes to the throttle body can get a bit to much slack in it. this slack CAN be adjusted manually.

let me know if u have questions.
Mark
Rough idle isn't the problem. I have a bored out throttle body and that already made my idle slightly more unstable. However, I'm only experiencing this problem because of the lighter M3 flywheel. I've read about this and it seems to be normal whenever the clutch reaches a certain temp. When the clutch is hot (on the track for example), the car's idle would drop below the normal RPM, if I tried to rev it up to stop the car from stalling the idle would just dip then the car would stall. It can't be a vaccum leak. I inspect all my hoses weekly very carefuelly. I even put a protective SS braiding on the outside.

On the cable there is a black threaded knob, I've tried turning this and it doesn't seem to do anything. Is there something else I should be looking for? I've got an M42.

thanks,

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 01:07 PM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
You could find a piece where the pedal in the cab's steel rod rests against another piece in the cab and put some tape around the rod so that it dosn't let the pedal come ALL THE WAY back, similar to the floormat method but you can't mess it up by moving your feet on the floormat

Otherwise, only other method I see is to adjust the DME computer, which is going to cost you.


bitcore is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 01:24 PM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
greennvmachine is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to greennvmachine
if he had a vaccum leak his idle speed would skyrocket
greennvmachine is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 02:26 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I'm not going to do these mickey mouse jobs and make my pedal slightly depressed all the time. Is it just me or does anyone else see anything wrong with doing things like that? If I let off the throttle and want engine braking, the car will still be acclerating when I don't want it to be. It won't slow down as fast without braking.

It doesn't bother me that much that the car stalls after driving it hard. I can live with it, but if there was an easy fix such as adjusting a nut or screw, then why not? Anyways, for the time being it's bareable.

Anyone else have suggestions I would appreciate it. I have a Dinan chip, but I doubt that changes idle speed properties in any way.

Thanks,

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Erratic Idle / Misfire / Cutting out makdolby 3-Series (E36) 12 02-05-2012 07:57 AM
Idle Problems BeelZibub 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 10 07-10-2005 04:56 AM
Idle Problems '95 325is Burnettm 3-Series (E36) 3 04-26-2005 12:41 PM
Idle Problems, Intake Service Bulletin? rhansen162 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 03-06-2005 07:18 PM
Warmed up idle puzzle. nightsurfride 3-Series (E21, E30) 2 02-03-2004 08:04 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome