how do i drive a bmw 318ti auto and manual - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-06-2003, 04:13 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
UgaSoccer86 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
i just was wandering how do u drive a a/m bmw 318ti b/c i have that and dont know how to drive the manual part of it
UgaSoccer86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 06-06-2003, 05:06 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
FruityOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: L.A.
Posts: 2,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
FruityOne is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to FruityOne
i guess you move the shifter from 1-2-3-d

93 325is - SOLD (white car in sig)
92 325i - 220rwhp/205rwtq (RIP)
02 GSXR 600 - 107rwhp/48rwtq
95 M3 - 220rwhp/205rwtq
President & Founder OF S50 Swap Club

THC the three most powerful letters in my veins...
FruityOne is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 06-06-2003, 06:40 PM
SpeedsterBMW
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
press the button to M and use the 1/2/3/D to shift...its not like in automode, where if you put it in 3, itll go from 1st to second to third...whatever gear you have it in while in "m" mode, itll be in, so from a start, put it in 1, then shift to 2..etc
 
#4 (permalink) Old 06-06-2003, 09:56 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
UgaSoccer86 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
do i push the brake or do i just pull the button and push it back
UgaSoccer86 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 06-06-2003, 11:06 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
MrM3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to MrM3
Quote:
Originally posted by UgaSoccer86@Jun 6 2003, 08:56 PM
do i push the brake or do i just pull the button and push it back
no brake, just push the button and go, like u said. it wont jam up the gears, i believe it works sorta like steptronic
MrM3 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 06-07-2003, 01:38 AM
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
you dont want to press the brake while doing it, all you will do is lose RPMs. Like speedster said, you remain in that gear until you change it, so if you stop in third, you will have to change it back to first or else you take off slow(er than usual) and you may stall. You wont gain much from it, should have gotten a 5speed. If I drive over there while your there Ill let you try on mine. I told dad to try and teach you on the boxster when it leaves the shop, but I doubt he will. Took me years to be able to back it out of the garage just to wash it.

<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 06-07-2003, 11:11 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
UgaSoccer86 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
lol i wish he would let me drive the boxter but yea ill try what u said when i get it back form the shop today
UgaSoccer86 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 06-07-2003, 02:23 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
[TMD]Kit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
[TMD]Kit is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to [TMD]Kit
i think u shouldn't play with that cuz ur trannsmission is not made for that.
keeps on downshifting overheats ur auto tranny.

<span style='font-size:10pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:blue'>Stop Dreaming the live, Start living the dream!</span></span>
TMS Cam Kit/Euro HFM/21 lb injectors/Headers/Track Pipe/Remus Exhaust/ 3.5 CAI/ Rebuilt Motor w 3k miles - 263rwhp/234rwtq
<img src='http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-7/281816/post-4-1050177175.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
[TMD]Kit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
auto to manual swap.........HELP!!!! DJProfessor 3-Series (E36) 4 09-22-2005 09:54 AM
Tranny Auto To Manual mmclaren 3-Series (E36) 15 03-11-2005 12:27 AM
Transitioning From Auto To Manual Mfarb 3-Series (E36) 12 12-15-2004 01:05 AM
Auto to Manual performancewerkz 3-Series (E36) 7 12-01-2003 10:28 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome