How do I change... - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-08-2004, 06:50 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
leibniz is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Ok, I have looked in my manual and it is not there. I have fidgited for 30 minutes and can't get it..

Can someone please tell me the trick to change the odometre display from kms to miles (and back) in my 1997 328i ?

Thanks.

ghead
leibniz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 04-08-2004, 07:56 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by leibniz@Apr 8 2004, 06:30 PM
Ok, I have looked in my manual and it is not there. I have fidgited for 30 minutes and can't get it..

Can someone please tell me the trick to change the odometre display from kms to miles (and back) in my 1997 328i ?

Thanks.

ghead
There is no such thing. That's probably why you can't find it in the manual or figure it out.

The only way to change anything on that odometer is to "illegally" roll it back, or forward :lol:

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 04-08-2004, 08:33 PM
1st Gear Member
 
roguesniper1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brew City, WI
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
roguesniper1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to roguesniper1
You can change your onboard computer settings, so they will show the speed, distance, mileage, weather etc, in euro or U.S conversion. Yeah, but you can't mess with the odometer. Thats is illegal and completely moronic.
roguesniper1 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 04-08-2004, 10:10 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
leibniz is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Ahhh... maybe you don't understand.

EVERY picture of an BMW in America I've seen shows the milage in miles. My display shows kms. I can't belive there isn't a display option to show the odometer reading in miles instead of kms....

i.e.: I don't want to CHANGE the milage, I just want it to show 50000 miles instead of 70000 kms. The manual shows that "miles" in the display build.

I guess to be even more specific, I want display options to show in imperial units, rather than metric, like 100% of the (American) BMW odometers I have seen pictures of.

I really don't care that much, since we are metric here in Canada; I just like to know EVERYTHING about, and what every option does, on my car.

No?
leibniz is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 04-08-2004, 11:19 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
leibniz is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
OK forget it.

I found the issue. Whereas I thought that all BMWs had imperial AND metric in the cluster, that is not that case. My particular 1997 328i is purely a metric machine when it comes to the speedometer, and the odometer. OBC still translates to imperial, but not the cluster.

So that's my answer. That's all I was looking for.
leibniz is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 04-09-2004, 12:45 AM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
you have to swap with an imperial gauge cluster to get miles.

Furious is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 04-09-2004, 01:40 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
leibniz is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
So then the imperial guage cluster has miles and kms, whereas the metric cluster has only kms? Just curious.

As I say, we live in metric here, so I want kms anyway; I just have to know every little switch and option on my 328i...


leibniz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake rotors a must change?? Z0Sicks 3-Series (E46, E90) 3 11-06-2005 02:23 PM
timing belt change and mechanics in miami träumer 3-Series (E21, E30) 6 10-03-2005 04:44 PM
The Green Lights For Oil Change Henri 3-Series (E36) 13 10-23-2004 10:49 AM
When to change "lifetime" tranny fluid LloydM 3-Series (E36) 9 08-31-2004 04:38 PM
Change ATF, Pro or Con? Chaser 3-Series (E36) 8 06-18-2004 01:26 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome