Hmmmm.... - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2004, 11:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: East Texas..USA...
Car:
Posts: 451
Photos:
DeefNDorf is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to DeefNDorf Send a message via MSN to DeefNDorf
Hmmm...OK..Im gonna replace O2 sensor at...sensor two bank two..and no one seems to know which one this is on a 96 328is..so if I crank the car and unplug a sensor will my check enginr light come on..?..and if I hook up my diog comp to my car will it read the unhooked sensor..?...this way I could find sensor 2 at bank 2...Good Idea..?
__________________
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...
DeefNDorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2004, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
waxfondlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, Texas
Car:
Posts: 62
Photos:
waxfondlr is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to waxfondlr Send a message via MSN to waxfondlr
sounds like it would work in theory..the computer should pick up the unplugged sensor
__________________
All I got is my balls and my word, And im not breaking either of them for anybody...
waxfondlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2004, 11:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
mech9T8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Car:
Posts: 358
Photos:
mech9T8 is an unknown quantity at this point
I have a 96 328 as well and my sensor in bank #2 has also failed. The dealer told me that bank #2 is the right side or passenger side of the vehicle. Only one small problem. There are 4 oxygen sensors on the 328's; 1 on the left before the cat, 1 on the left after the cat, 1 on the right before the cat and 1 on the right after the cat. I was able to squeeze a little more info from the dealer and they told me it was the one before the cat.
You can use the trial and error approach like you mentioned but you'll find that those sensors aren't the easiest to access and they are sometimes tough to remove. But here are a few tips:

1) Spray WD-40 or some kind of penetrant to help loosen the sensor. MAKE SURE THE CAR HAS COOLED DOWN COMPLETELY. THE PENETRANT IS FLAMABLE AND YOU DON'T WANT TO BE STARTING A FIRE UNDER YOUR CAR.

2) Give the penetrant some time to soak in and try to remove the sensor with a cresant wrench. I heard that a socket is better but I don't know how the hell you would get that in there. If it doens't loosen then let the car run for a few minutes and try again. The heat may make it easier. BUT MAKE SURE YOU WIPE UP ANY OF THE PENETRANT YOU SPRAYED, LIKE I SAID IT'S FLAMABLE.

3) When you install the new sensor make sure to put some anti seize on the threads so that it will be easier to remove next time.

That's about it, I did remove my old sensor but I had to put it back in because I got to the dealer to late to buy another one. I know, that was just stupid on my part.

Good luck!
__________________
<img src='http://www.geocities.com/royb9t8/MY_BMW_2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

<span style='color:blue'>My ass may be dumb, but I ain't no dumb ass!</span>
mech9T8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2004, 04:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Car:
Posts: 2,907
Photos:
bitcore will become famous soon enoughbitcore will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to bitcore Send a message via AIM to bitcore Send a message via MSN to bitcore
Be sure you crank that thin in though, you don't really want that thing backing out, landing on the moving asphault and ruining the $100 sensor and making a LOUD noise at the same time.
__________________

bitcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hmmmm... DeefNDorf 3-Series (E36) 1 11-06-2004 10:38 AM
Hmmmm.... DeefNDorf 3-Series (E36) 8 06-26-2004 12:09 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.