High Performance Alternator - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 09:56 PM
1st Gear Member
 
BImmerN2B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BImmerN2B is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Are there any high performance alternators for bimmers? I haven't seen them anywhere. I was trying to make a better stereo system for my car. Is a 318i with the 80 amper. I don't want to strain or fry any wires in there because of less of an alternator. anybody got any ideas?
BImmerN2B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 10:02 PM
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
I think there are some 140s out there :P I have one from a 328i that I know works, do you know how to tell what amperage it is?

jrhaile is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 10:08 PM
4th Gear Member
 
spieluhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Snohomish, Wa
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
spieluhr is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to spieluhr
if you don't want to have to deal with a new alternator and stuff, you can get batts. and/or caps.

just an idea, but i think your on the right track with a new alt.

<img src='http://img268.echo.cx/img268/1430/zkwsig23iq.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
1996 328is Black

Suspension: MB Motoring 18x8, Kuhmo Supra 225/35/18ZR
Audio:Eclipse CD3414 HU
Lighting: ZKW W/ DDE PLUS
spieluhr is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 10:11 PM
1st Gear Member
 
BImmerN2B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BImmerN2B is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
That is a good idea too. get another battery instead of an alternator. i have the 10 speakers in the car and I added a sub box with two 12's I just want to pump them up a little bit.
BImmerN2B is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 10:49 PM
1st Gear Member
 
BImmerN2B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BImmerN2B is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
questions is: can a 130 or 140 from another bimmer(e36) fit this car and what else would it require to run it?
BImmerN2B is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 11:01 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
Get a 140 amp alternator. The wiring will be simpler. The thing is designed to have more current pulled out of it. Believe me, it is way better -- makes more electrical sense -- than getting an extra battery.
The alternator from other E36s should fit. I believe you do not need anything else to run it. However, do some research: since you will be pulling more current, very likely you will need your voltage regulator to have a higher power rating. I would think that the alternator's manufacturer would sell you the alternator with a properly rated voltage regulator already in it. Therefore, I believe it shouldn't be much trouble. Make sure to inquire about these things before you buy anything.

drz is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 11:04 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by jrhaile@Feb 7 2005, 10:02 PM
I think there are some 140s out there :P I have one from a 328i that I know works, do you know how to tell what amperage it is?
[snapback]287657[/snapback]
Advance Auto parts will chk that out for you for free...


VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 02-08-2005, 12:24 PM
1st Gear Member
 
BImmerN2B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BImmerN2B is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
HMM, GREAT INFO GUYS, THANXS. JUST ONE MORE, WOULD I HAVE TO CHANGE THE CABLE THAT COMES OUT OF THE ALTERNATOR TO ANOTHER GAUGE SINCE I AM CHANGING MY ALTERNATOR AMPERAGE?
BImmerN2B is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 01:15 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rookie is an unknown quantity at this point
You know that is a good question. I am running an optima red top, with a really nice cap/batt in addition and I still get really bad light dim. Do you know if all stock E36 alternators are only 80 amperage?

By the way the battery and cap idea is ok, but it is a major band aid, and is not really worth the cash, do it once and do it right just get the alternator!

Hookers need love too!
What we do in life echoes an eternity
<img src='http://vfs.com/~3d43patrick/rookiesig2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Rookie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
getting new high performance spark plugs anyone use these???? guywithblack88e30 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 09-26-2005 02:12 AM
High Performance Chip For 325xi esteiner 3-Series (E36) 1 01-26-2005 12:29 PM
High Performance Sparks And Wires guywithblack88e30 3-Series (E21, E30) 18 12-03-2004 11:53 AM
Performance chip appollo 3-Series (E36) 11 12-20-2003 01:17 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome