Help Needed!!!!!! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2005, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
chrismcl05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Car:
Posts: 41
Photos:
chrismcl05 is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Help Needed!!!!!!

hello to everyone who reads this i bought a 318i SE and it come with a remote apparently for an alarm but when i press the buttons nothing happens i have been looking on ebay lately and found a remote that looks identicle and when i emailed the guy he told me i just had to reprogram the 1 i have can anyone tell me how to reprogram the remote looks like used: used: used: used: used: used: used:
Attached Thumbnails
Help Needed!!!!!!-remote.jpg  
chrismcl05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-01-2005, 12:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Car:
Posts: 3,677
Photos:
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
what year is your car??? i didnt even know they made a 318se??

if it needs reprogramming, then i would bring it to the dealer.. they will prolly charge u like 20 bucks.. since u have the remote allready
__________________
-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Car: 2001 330i & 2011 550i
Posts: 7,254
Photos:
Delmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
what the heck is an 318se?

special edition?
second edition?
sport edition?
__________________
Delmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 12:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Car:
Posts: 294
Photos:
Hamfisted is on a distinguished road
Old Cobra alarm?

That looks like an old Cobra or Viper alarm remote. I would try replacing the remote's battery (see if the alarm responds after that.... if not....) , disconnect the car battery ground cable for about ten seconds then reattach the ground cable and immediately push one of the lock/unlock buttons on the remote. That should reprogram the remote to the alarm brain box. If that doesn't work the brain box is probably crapped out and you'll need to replace it with a new one. Most likely an updated version of the same company's alarm will plug right in. You can probably find the brain box behind the glove box (you have to remove the glovebox...). Pull it out and see if you can identify it. But try the new remote battery and reprogramming first and see if that fixes it. Good luck.







Mike
Hamfisted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Car:
Posts: 2,907
Photos:
bitcore will become famous soon enoughbitcore will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to bitcore Send a message via AIM to bitcore Send a message via MSN to bitcore
Beware that if you have the stock radio, you will have to re-enter the code if you disconnect the battery.
Be sure you know this code otherwise you'll be making a trip to a dealership to get them to look up the code for you.
__________________

bitcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 08:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
chrismcl05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Car:
Posts: 41
Photos:
chrismcl05 is an unknown quantity at this point
Talking reply

hi the year is 1996 (P) and the SE stands for Sports Edition well so say the dealer. thanks for everyones help but i will get in touch with the dealer as this would be easiest. i have tryed a new battery and tryed also reprogramming it myself but unfortunatly it didnt work.
chrismcl05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 11:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Car:
Posts: 294
Photos:
Hamfisted is on a distinguished road
Alarm installer...

A shop that installs alarms would be able to hunt down the problem also. The dealer will rip you off and then tell you it's not a factory alarm system so they can't touch it. You have several options though. You can buy a factory alarm system from Bav Auto and install it yourself (they're easy...) or you can buy one of the Stellar alarms that also just plug into your wiring harness behind the glovebox. There are several how-to articles on alarm installations for the E36 available on the web. I like this one: Keyless Entry/Alarm install E36 . But for the money you're gonna spend to have the dealer look at it you could install a really nice aftermarket system that's plug-n-play yourself. That's an aftermarket FOB you have there anyway.


You're looking for this plug behind the glovebox.....









Mike
Hamfisted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 12:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
General Chaos
 
SpeedInfusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Car: ///M3,Corolla
Posts: 13,803
Photos:
SpeedInfusion has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to SpeedInfusion
yea, get a new alarm, they arent that expensive and its far less trouble then reprgramming and paying to diagnose your old alarm..
__________________
SpeedInfusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Racing Help Needed hardknox17 M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6) 0 09-28-2004 05:32 PM
WTB..NEEDED..E36 shell..body..minus engine m3kindaguy Classifieds Sell & Buy 1 09-09-2004 08:03 PM
Thinking about '98 M3 Roadster - Advice Needed Wempe M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6) 2 05-21-2004 12:40 PM
Help Needed BimmerDoctor 3-Series (E46, E90) 12 03-31-2004 12:13 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.