*HELP* e36 Alarm - Add ons? Motion Detector? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-15-2006, 10:17 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
EastCoastBimmerman is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Arrow *HELP* e36 Alarm - Add ons? Motion Detector?

Hey guys,

I recently had my 94 318is broken into... long story short btwn stolen audio and water damage to the cars electrical units it ran a little over 8 thousand dollars.(insurance covered most)

I do have the stock BMW oem alarm... it dosent have motion sensors or shock. The way the theif broke into the car was via window.... Pretty much my alarm didnt have any protection against it.


My question to you guys:

Is there a way to add "add-ons" to my stock car bmw oem alarm?
I see stellar as well as a few other companies make the "motion sensor" add ons

Idealy, I wanted to add a Two-zone/2-stage motion sensor which provide a warning alert when an exterior zone is violated and trigger the alarm if a second, interior zone is violated.
*Is this at all possible, has anyone done this?

****Also, does the stock OEM alarm have inputs?

Ive seen add on products such as this by DEI and Stellar:
507T DEI- Best electronic motion detector. Compatible with all alarm systems that have negative trigger input. (0.6Lb) DEI 507T.
or
Crime Guard AU94T $60
Dual Zone Motion Sensor
Item #514AU94T

Can these be added onto my stock BMW system?

Thanks, I appreciate responses... just got my car back and I dont want the same thing to happen again, looking to get this done this week.
EastCoastBimmerman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 10-15-2006, 11:44 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
First of all, welcome to werkz. I hate for it to be under these circumstances, however.

I don't know much about the OEM system. I don't think it is very flxible. If I were you, I would look into aftermarket alarm systems. I am sorry I cannot be of more help.

Good luck.

- Daniel

drz is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 10-16-2006, 12:02 AM
The Messican
 
MiguelACA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute MiguelACA has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to MiguelACA
it might even be cheaper to get an aftermarket alarm


A morning of awkwardness is better than a night of loneliness
MiguelACA is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 10-16-2006, 12:14 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
EastCoastBimmerman is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thanks, does anyone know if our OEM alarms have a "input"
I have been searching everywhere and cant find an answer.
THanks!
EastCoastBimmerman is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 10-16-2006, 12:46 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
thekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson MS
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute
I just went to Bavarian Autosport | BMW Parts and BMW Accessories because they sell the OEM alarms, I can't tell from the pictures. If I were you I would call them and just ask them if the OEM alarm has the inputs that you need. They are very friendly and they may even sell the add-ons. They do sell Stellar systems that are wired to go into the "pre-wired" E36s, so I think the addons you are looking at go with that system... but I am not 100%... just call up bavauto though and they'll tell you for sure.
thekid is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 11-12-2006, 03:05 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
318Noire is on a distinguished road
The BMW/Alpine system is supposed to have glass-break protection, there should be a mic right next to the warning LED, or on the underside of the alarm brain depending on which one you have (pre or post "1995" pre '95 have the rectangle 3 button remote with a removeable coded chip, the post 95 ones have a round 2 button remote with a code built in). If you open up the brain on either, you can adjust the sensitivity, mine was set way too insensitive (braking glass bottles inside the car (into a bucket of course) wouldn't set it off before, but now just tapping on a window with a washer sets it off)

The best way that I can think of to add another sensor would only allow a full trigger of the alarm. The BMW/Alpine system has an input for the hood sensor. It is the single pin plug that comes off of the body and alarm brain harness. I think it is a white/red striped wire. If you look at pictures for an OEM alarm install you should see it. Anyway, pick a sensor that you can adapt the trigger output on, and splice ( and solder it correctly) into the hood sensor wire. Isolate the two sensors with diodes, one on each wire from the sensor before they meet at the splice, and a trigger from either the hood sensor or the new one should set it off.

I don't know exactly how the hood sensor triggers the alarm (a -ground, +voltage, or a combination of +voltages or how much). I am assuming you have some electrical knowledge if you are screwing around inside of your BMW, and know what a diode is and does. I think I have seen this somewhere else on the web in a write up, however, I would just use a voltmeter to test it out myself.

These are just ideas of mine, I take no responsibility for you screwing up your own BMW blah blah blah.
318Noire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BMW 3 series E36 // M3 POWER LSD 2,93 Differential // S14Stock OEM Parts 0 09-05-2006 06:18 AM
1999 E36 (Euro) Sigma alarm RedCarlton 3-Series (E36) 1 01-20-2006 03:11 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome