Help! Chip Install Gone Bad. - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2004, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 254
Photos:
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Well I swapped in a JC chip for my dinan chip to test it out and now my car won't start! I'm pretty sure I put my chip in the right way it's supposed to be but now I can't get my car to fire. What's happening??
Brian325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2004, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Car: Blah
Posts: 5,375
Photos:
97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Sounds like a stupid question.. but did you follow the JC directions that come with that thing??? It says to do some odd stuff...

I can think of a few things that might have gone wrong...

First.. you actually didnt do the right upload by the directions..

Second.. you still had the Dinan software on there.. which wont work at all.. and messes up a lot of stuff...

Third.. Your battery wasnt fully charged.. a battery that has many fluxes in voltage is said to play a big role in how well your computer takes the download... or works for that matter...

Does any of that spark any ideas???
__________________

1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 254
Photos:
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Uhh well I don't use the software type because I have a 95 325i. I have to install an actual chip. I installed the other chip back in and it worked fine...but I tryed the JC both directions and I still can't get the engine fired. It's weird.
Brian325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Car: Blah
Posts: 5,375
Photos:
97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
OMG... sorry... I didnt see that it was 95... my bad....

In that case... sounds like its a problem with the JC chip... where did you buy.. or did you buy? See if you can get another one...

Les
__________________

1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 254
Photos:
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Hmmm...I think I know what my problem may be. I bought a chip for the 325i bmws 93-94...I bought this one because the 94 means to 8/94 production. I'm not entirely sure but If I happened to have a 325i model that was made after 8/94, would that be my problem?? I'm not sure how to tell if my car was made before 8/94 or after...anyone know? Would I just look in my owners manual?
Brian325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Car: Blah
Posts: 5,375
Photos:
97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Dude..

Enter your last 7 of your vin... and this will tell you the production date for sure...

Hope this helps..

http://www.bmw-z1.com/VIN/VINdecode-e.cgi

As for not having the right chip... that is possible.. but where did you buy it from???.. Ask them..

Les
__________________

1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Car: 2001 M5
Posts: 3,525
Photos:
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
Send a message via ICQ to jrhaile Send a message via AIM to jrhaile Send a message via MSN to jrhaile
more then likely sounds like a bad chip... however, I've heard of the ecu not liking more then 2 chips ever being programmed or something like that.. Icould be thinking of obd2 cars but I'm not sure
__________________
jrhaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 254
Photos:
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Lol Crap, my production date was 05/95....and I needed to be before 01/95. WTF!? I just always assumed they made cars the year before...i.e.- They make all the 2005's in 2004. Damn what a waste of money.
Brian325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Car: 2001 M5
Posts: 3,525
Photos:
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
Send a message via ICQ to jrhaile Send a message via AIM to jrhaile Send a message via MSN to jrhaile
live and learn... get a replacement
__________________
jrhaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Car: Blah
Posts: 5,375
Photos:
97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Dude.. you can send it ... and get another one..

Where did you buy it from?????

Les
__________________

1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Car: Blah
Posts: 5,375
Photos:
97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Does anyone know what changes occure to have this difference??? software for the ECU or what???.. any one know?

Les
__________________

1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 254
Photos:
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Unfortunately I got it from an ebay seller but I didn't spend too much. Does this mean that I would have to get a software upgrade?...or I can't get any. I don't think I could have got another one if I had bought it from an online store. I've done research on chips and most all of them for the 325i say 93-94 cars or 93-01/95 cars. This includes the JC chip and the dinan chip. I think there is a production cut off for the e36 92's also but I forget the exact month.
Brian325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you install a Dinan Chip? fryebzky 3-Series (E36) 6 04-08-2008 05:50 PM
Tms Chip Install 93 325i 3-Series (E36) 9 01-31-2005 05:42 PM
Install Help! uber e36 3-Series (E36) 6 09-01-2004 02:39 PM
Turtle wax chip stick steve325IS Wash & Detail 10 06-22-2004 11:56 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.