BMW Werkz banner

Hello I Am A Noob, Help!

2K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  Obiein808 
#1 ·
I have a beautiful 1999 328 IS M. It has a few problems though, HELP!

1.) the car makes a funny "humming noise" , only when its moing at speeds 35+ its very noticible and progresively noisey.
I have read a lot on these forums, is this the rubber "guibo" that needs to be replaced?

2.) I recently had recharge my battery, fun finding it, and when I put it back in and reconnected it I noticed the driver seat will no longer move forward or backward.
Whats troubling is the seat moves up and down, even reclines (all power) but the forward motion seems to be not working. Did I short the motor? Is it jsut the switch?
Since its a 6 way switch, do I have to replace the enitre switch? HLEP!

thanks in advance, I think all of you are great for supporting this awesome forum!

-OC

#6 ·
Shahb they are only askign questions about this M to increase their knowledge about the e36.

No i don't think it is your guibo. Try and pinpoint where you think the nosie is comign from as it could be close to a million things.

I don't know much about the power seat motors but maybe this problem is fuse related?

#7 ·
come on guys like you guys have any idea what the problem is help him out i doubt that m makes a difference with this problems
Actually it is this rare 328 IS "M" that has a faulty rotator splint which often causes this humming noice at high speeds....thats why I was asking....WISEASS

#8 ·
yeah shahab we were all going to get to the point of the question we were just curious about the m thing on the 328, you coming in here and making the post you did was useless.. we were atleast trying to gain knowledge you were just being an ass. haha anyways i had a warped rotor and it made my car hum really loud when i was driving down the road

David

#9 ·
This is the rare factory "M" 328 IS M

splint huh?