GTC Cams anyone have them??? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-02-2004, 11:10 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Zq-8_dawg is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I am looking to do some things to my car and for the 318 4 cylinder motors mods seem pretty limited as compared to some of the cars I have previously owned.

I stumbled across the GTC cams at www.bekkers.com wich claim
"GTC sport cams are designed to increase horse power and torque by 10 to 15 percent throughout the middle and upper RPM ranges, while retaining good idle and low RPM performance" The price for these cams is $470 which seems fair if they give the gains that they claim.

They also have Racing cams but they have a rougher idle and require extensive modifications.

If you have these cams let us know how you like them, if not what do you think about these cams?
Zq-8_dawg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 08-02-2004, 11:29 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
komodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
komodo is an unknown quantity at this point
$470 seems a bit cheap for a good cam. That site doesn't look very professional... I dunno. For something as important as a cam, I don't think I'd buy anything except a name brand such as schrick.
komodo is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 08-03-2004, 12:33 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Zq-8_dawg is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Don't judge a book by it's cover, that site really doesn't look any different from any other performance site I have been to. They are ground on OEM blanks and use CNC technology and come with a 1 year warranty.

I also found another manafacuter for M44 Cams
www.kentcams.com
Zq-8_dawg is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 08-03-2004, 11:39 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
I use to know someone here locally who distributed GTC cams. Unfortunately from what I remember they don't make any applications for the E36 318. The GTC cams are only for the 4 cyl M10 motor which were from the 2002 and early model E30 318's.

If you can find something for your car, please let me know as well. GTC is a very well known brand in motorsports. They are famous for building race cams for Mercedes Benz.

komodo9,

Just because you've never heard of GTC doesn't mean they aren't good. It just means you don't have much knowledge about performance car parts except for what you see in magazines or in popular websites. Don't buy into hype! If you start looking into high quality race parts, you'll find that you've never heard of any of those brands either. My ex-mechanic (now retired) use to work for a BMW racing team in Japan. They used GTC cams in their BMW race cars. GTC has been around for decades, way before the Internet even existed. Anyways, Bekkers is a respectable company, they also do a lot of racing.



Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 08-03-2004, 12:28 PM
350z
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bigred318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bigred318 Send a message via Yahoo to bigred318
yeah dude i wish those would fit my e36 318is! 480 bucks for cams is such a good deal holy! do some omre reseacch and find some for the m42 engine!

David
bigred318 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 08-03-2004, 04:52 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
komodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
komodo is an unknown quantity at this point
Autotechnica, that is true. I just hadn't heard of them before, but I am new to most of this... sorry about that
komodo is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 08-03-2004, 07:15 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Zq-8_dawg is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
well that is a no go, they replied back and said that they don't have anything that will fit the m44 application. So I am going to see if Kent Cams can give me pricing info.
Zq-8_dawg is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 08-03-2004, 08:54 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Zq-8_dawg is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Well I just got off the phone with a distributor for kent cams... it appears that I will need to send in my stock cams to be reground or buy new stock cams for them to replace or get cams from a junk yard. Price for the regrinds is $450 + shipping

Problem #1
My car is a daily driver

Problem #2
I was told that they don't add any material to the cam just grind a new profile, so that means valve lift will not increase.

I have Kent cams specs so essentially I could take my cam to a shop that grinds cams and have them do the same thing.


Are there any other places that make cams for the M44 engine?

This is very frusterating that performance parts are so hard to obtain for this engine.
Zq-8_dawg is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 08-04-2004, 11:51 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
Forget reground cams, you can get that done anywhere. What you want is a cam made from a new OE billet. I'd recommend BMP. However, their prices are not cheap.

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 08-04-2004, 02:58 PM
350z
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bigred318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bigred318 Send a message via Yahoo to bigred318
but the high end power is defintally worth it! not to mention the offset idle! mmmmmmm

David
bigred318 is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 08-04-2004, 07:11 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Zq-8_dawg is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I guess what I am going to do is find a place locally that will regrind cams and see what becomes of it using Kent's specs, if they are reputable I will find out if they can tweek the specs a little and get me a nice power gain.

BTW are factory cams billet or what material are they made of?
Zq-8_dawg is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 08-04-2004, 10:11 PM
1st Gear Member
 
robbins6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
robbins6103 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to robbins6103
I don't know how it is on a 318, but on my 328 you can't just change the cams and call it good, you would also have to get bigger fuel injectors, new valves, valve springs, etc...and on top of all of that I would need the software to support it.

-DR

<img src='http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/8/web/740000-740999/740645_1_full.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
robbins6103 is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 08-04-2004, 11:13 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
You would get obvious gains almost immediately afterwards. However, you should have a shop dyno tune your car and provide proper software programming (big $$$). You would also need to tune for proper A/F ratios. An adjustable fuel pressure regulator and an A/F ratio guage is an asset.

The whole point of upgrading your cams is to make the engine suck more air in. Without doing headwork, you're actually straving the engine and the engine will literally run out of breath. If you're not careful, you could make your car significantly slower. If you plan to keep the car relatively stock, find a cam with a small increase in duration and valvelift. Lower duration will give you more low end torque, but less high end. Higher durations will give you more high end at the expensive of low end.

Also, it is cirital to inspect your valvetrain and the crank to make sure they are in good shape. You don't want to put more stress on a high milage engine which shows signs of serious wear.

bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cams Issue Rooz 3-Series (E36) 8 09-05-2005 04:23 PM
M3 Cams Install..help Help Me Pls> Eggrolled211 3-Series (E36) 5 03-21-2005 07:23 PM
Tms Chip And M3 Cams kyle_baker 3-Series (E36) 23 02-18-2005 09:21 AM
Custom Ground Cams (streetable) For Sale Kowalski 3-Series (E21, E30) 11 01-20-2005 10:39 AM
Custom Ground Cams (streetable) For Sale Kowalski Classifieds Sell & Buy 2 01-15-2005 09:19 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome