Finally Changed Microfilter! Easy As Cake! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 02:16 AM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Okay I followed Furious ' rules in the Tech DIY section. The thing was dirty. Actually...what prompted me to think about changing it was the chirping sounds behind the dash that came on when I had the heat on full blast....Also I noticed there was less air coming thru the cabin vents lately....(this was all due to a very dirty filter clogging the air). Also Remember if you guys don't change it it can mess up your air conditioning system....and/or get you sick!

Okay, so the BMW dealership quoted me $125 to change it. I told them I don't think so!
I paid $20 for the filter itself from the BMW dealership and changed it myself. It took me about 30 minutes to get to the actual filter cover (but once you do it again and know where to look and what to pull...the whole thing really takes about 5 minutes to get the filter out and about 10 minutes to replace the new one)

Getting the new one it took me about 1 hour because I forgot to remove the distribution block earlier when I removed the passenger floor vents and I eventually got stuck with trying to get the new filter in before I realized what I was doing wrong...If you don't remove the block ou wont get clearance for the new filter to go in. Also Once you fit the new filter in push it in towards the direction of the the rear end of the car and make sure there is a space behind the new filter so that when you put the filter door back it can fit all the way in.

Apart from my stupidity...its a very easy DIY task that NEEDS to be done every 10,000 miles for ALL E36....DO NOT remove your GLOVEBOX...follow furious upgraded DIY...but YOU DO NOT HAVE TO REMOVE GLOVEBOX to change filter!!!!


Old Filter vs. New Filter

Pulling the old filter out, notice I forgot to remove the block


wires wires everywhere ..but dont fear! it looks harder than it is!

Thanks Furious your DIY print out guided me!!

Dirt, leaves, hair, dead bugs, pollen!ewwww!

Lay a towel down or you'll stain your carpet!

What your filter will look like if you forget to change it!

Delmarco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 08:18 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
uber e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
uber e36 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to uber e36
Nice job! Do you think having a factory alarm would cause any problems? Cause I think some of the alarm stuff is up there behind the glovebox...

Click signature for pictures:


Need some Real Estate Advice? www.gracehomes.com
uber e36 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 08:22 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fadec40 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by geoff@bmw@Feb 9 2005, 08:18 AM
Nice job! Do you think having a factory alarm would cause any problems? Cause I think some of the alarm stuff is up there behind the glovebox...
[snapback]288426[/snapback]
Yea, it's in the area,,but there is no problem moving stuff around..just take your time. It's not like you are disconnecting anything.
Fadec40 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 09:05 AM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by geoff@bmw@Feb 9 2005, 08:18 AM
Nice job! Do you think having a factory alarm would cause any problems? Cause I think some of the alarm stuff is up there behind the glovebox...
[snapback]288426[/snapback]
I can't say. I have a n aftermarket KeyLess Alarm and I'm not even sure where that's located.


I hear the factory alarm is only mounted on the black foam piece that covers the bottom of the glovebox and I can't reaaly see how that would've gotten in the way....unless it was glued on to the blck foam piece and had to be removed carefully by force.

Delmarco is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 09:21 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fadec40 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Delmarco+Feb 9 2005, 09:05 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Delmarco @ Feb 9 2005, 09:05 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-geoff@bmw@Feb 9 2005, 08:18 AM
Nice job!* Do you think having a factory alarm would cause any problems?* Cause I think some of the alarm stuff is up there behind the glovebox...
[snapback]288426[/snapback]
I can't say. I have a n aftermarket KeyLess Alarm and I'm not even sure where that's located.


I hear the factory alarm is only mounted on the black foam piece that covers the bottom of the glovebox and I can't reaaly see how that would've gotten in the way....unless it was glued on to the blck foam piece and had to be removed carefully by force.
[snapback]288432[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]


Just remember after you remove the glove compartment, there is a lot of stuff there. As long as you dont remove or disconnect ANYthing...you will be allright.
Fadec40 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 09:24 AM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by Fadec40+Feb 9 2005, 09:21 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Fadec40 @ Feb 9 2005, 09:21 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'>
Quote:
Originally posted by Delmarco@Feb 9 2005, 09:05 AM
<!--QuoteBegin-geoff@bmw
Quote:
@Feb 9 2005, 08:18 AM
Nice job!* Do you think having a factory alarm would cause any problems?* Cause I think some of the alarm stuff is up there behind the glovebox...
[snapback]288426[/snapback]


I can't say. I have a n aftermarket KeyLess Alarm and I'm not even sure where that's located.


I hear the factory alarm is only mounted on the black foam piece that covers the bottom of the glovebox and I can't reaaly see how that would've gotten in the way....unless it was glued on to the blck foam piece and had to be removed carefully by force.
[snapback]288432[/snapback]

Just remember after you remove the glove compartment, there is a lot of stuff there. As long as you dont remove or disconnect ANYthing...you will be allright.
[snapback]288434[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]

NO!
You DO NOT have to remove your Glove Box! I didn't following Furious' advice. I can only imagine how much youcould fcuk up by removng the box...Also it's so easy doing it furious' way with only removing the kick panel and getting low, then pulling stuff out and unlatching the filter door. The glove box removal nly adds time, fustration and risk!

Delmarco is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 09:44 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fadec40 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Delmarco+Feb 9 2005, 09:24 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Delmarco @ Feb 9 2005, 09:24 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'>
Quote:
Originally posted by Fadec40@Feb 9 2005, 09:21 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Delmarco@Feb 9 2005, 09:05 AM
<!--QuoteBegin-geoff@bmw
Quote:
Quote:
@Feb 9 2005, 08:18 AM
Nice job!* Do you think having a factory alarm would cause any problems?* Cause I think some of the alarm stuff is up there behind the glovebox...
[snapback]288426[/snapback]


I can't say. I have a n aftermarket KeyLess Alarm and I'm not even sure where that's located.


I hear the factory alarm is only mounted on the black foam piece that covers the bottom of the glovebox and I can't reaaly see how that would've gotten in the way....unless it was glued on to the blck foam piece and had to be removed carefully by force.
[snapback]288432[/snapback]


Ahhh...When I did mine I removed the box...But this year I will try it the easy way...Thanks.

By the way...there really isn't much to fcuk up..You just have to be careful.


Just remember after you remove the glove compartment, there is a lot of stuff there. As long as you dont remove or disconnect ANYthing...you will be allright.
[snapback]288434[/snapback]
NO!
You DO NOT have to remove your Glove Box! I didn't following Furious' advice. I can only imagine how much youcould fcuk up by removng the box...Also it's so easy doing it furious' way with only removing the kick panel and getting low, then pulling stuff out and unlatching the filter door. The glove box removal nly adds time, fustration and risk!
[snapback]288438[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]


Ahhh...When I did mine I removed the box...But this year I will try it the easy way...Thanks.

By the way...there really isn't much to fcuk up..You just have to be careful.
Fadec40 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 10:17 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
tympboy is an unknown quantity at this point
the factory alarm, or any well installed keyless or alarm would be behind the glove box. it shouldnt be in the way tho. if it is they just unclip and there is no harm in unpluging it.
tympboy is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 10:33 AM
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Posts: 3,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
what kind of benefits did you get with changing it!

-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 10:54 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fadec40 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Cruzin 323is@Feb 9 2005, 10:33 AM
what kind of benefits did you get with changing it!
[snapback]288471[/snapback]
Your climate control system runs so much better. A/C,,defrosting, etc. Also this filter catches all the fine particles and pollen that would otherwise enter the cabin, even helping allergy sufferers.

Right now Lexus is running an ad about the benefit of these microfilters.
Fadec40 is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 11:07 AM
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
Del, did you photoshop your car?

jrhaile is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 11:52 AM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
I'll change mine as soon as I get a chance. I'll be going to the dealership tomorrow. I'll make sure to pick up a microfilter. I'll take pics if mine is as filthy (or worse, hehe) than Delmarco's.

drz is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 01:15 PM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by Fadec40+Feb 9 2005, 10:54 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Fadec40 @ Feb 9 2005, 10:54 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-Cruzin 323is@Feb 9 2005, 10:33 AM
what kind of benefits did you get with changing it!
[snapback]288471[/snapback]
Your climate control system runs so much better. A/C,,defrosting, etc. Also this filter catches all the fine particles and pollen that would otherwise enter the cabin, even helping allergy sufferers.

Right now Lexus is running an ad about the benefit of these microfilters.
[snapback]288486[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]

Well look at the pictures and tell me what you think!? used
Of course my heat comes out alot hotter and the air smells cleaner as well (this you only realize after you change the filter)

In fact when the filter gets dirty like that it still works to filter out the filth but less conditioned air circulates into the cabin and your air may be funkier in smell depending on what you got stuck in the dirty filter!

I guess the biggest difference is air comes out must faster and hotter (i would assume cooler as well if it was summer and I was running the a/c). The cabin also heats up quicker. And the air feels fresher and less musty!

Also there is no wierd clicking and whistling (chirping) noise behind the dash....
I credited that to the microfilter being dirty...

It so easy and cheap to change it I can't imagine how the benifits cannot out weigh any arguements against not changing it!

Delmarco is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 01:16 PM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by jrhaile@Feb 9 2005, 11:07 AM
Del, did you photoshop your car?
[snapback]288490[/snapback]
yeah... :P

Delmarco is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 01:55 PM
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Delmarco+Feb 9 2005, 01:16 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Delmarco @ Feb 9 2005, 01:16 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-jrhaile@Feb 9 2005, 11:07 AM
Del, did you photoshop your car?
[snapback]288490[/snapback]
yeah... :P
[snapback]288542[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]

Wait what? What did you do. I am not really familiar with your car how is that picture supposed to look?
Enought off subject. The microfilter thing is supposed to be great I am not sure the differences though I had the place doing the maintenance checkup on my car when i first bought it change my filter too.

<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changed my own oil last weekend so easy.... 2001BMW330iRob 3-Series (E46, E90) 4 09-02-2004 02:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome