Euro MAF conversion - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2009, 04:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Tr1cky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maitland Australia
Car: 1996 328i coupe.
Posts: 5
Photos:
Tr1cky is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Tr1cky
Euro MAF conversion

I have a 328i coupe.
Have done the M50 Manifold conversion, works well.
Have removed the traction control and replaced with a samco elbow from Bimmer world, very nice.
Have lost the standard airbox and replaced with COSMOS racing 3.5" cold air intake. works well
and have fitted M3 extractors and 24lb injectors.

Had a dyno tune and am making 135kw at the rear wheels.

thats the good bit

the problem is i have fitted a 3.5" Bosch MAF, in place if the 3" Siemes MAF.
After modifying the socket on the MAF the standard plug fits.
But i continue to get MAF erros on the DME when i check with code reader.
I am worried that the ECU wont be working properly if the MAF is not functioning correctly.
Has anyone sucessfuly done a euro MAF swap?

i would like to know what i can do to ensure im running 14.7 AFR

thanks
Tr1cky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2009, 09:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Car: 89 E30 325i, 2007 Honda
Posts: 14,690
Photos:
witeshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nice
My first thought is there's a basic compatibility issue with the MAF and ECU.
__________________
BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Im Bluffin With My Muffin
 
AlpineSixAndSeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Car: 1976 Benz 300D, 1999 740iL
Posts: 5,992
Photos:
AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to beholdAlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to beholdAlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to beholdAlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to beholdAlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to beholdAlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to beholdAlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to AlpineSixAndSeven
you know to Use the 3.5 MAF you have to get different software right? Or else you'll get all kinds of errors.......
__________________
1991 Ford Taurs SHO 5 Speed White on Tan
1996 Chevy Lumina LTZ Rep 3.4L
1992 318i Coupe parts car
1992 325i Ls1 swap with a T56 6 speed 12.2 quarter mile
1976 Mercedes Benz 300D with a Ford 5.0L Fuel Injected soon to be Modded
I am Captain Obvious
AlpineSixAndSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 06:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
n00b
 
Tr1cky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maitland Australia
Car: 1996 328i coupe.
Posts: 5
Photos:
Tr1cky is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Tr1cky
I am thinking the "basic combatability issue between the MAF and the ECU " is my problem.
I have had the ECU totally remapped on a dyno, so dont think its a software issue.

The real question is can you use a Bosch MAF with a siemens ecu?
i can swap the wires around if need be, if the signal could be accepted by the ecu.
__________________
Too much power????
Tr1cky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 06:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Tr1cky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maitland Australia
Car: 1996 328i coupe.
Posts: 5
Photos:
Tr1cky is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Tr1cky
actually...
Does anyone know of any 3.5" MAF that can run on a siemens ECU?
__________________
Too much power????
Tr1cky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 07:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Car:
Posts: 668
Photos:
Montizzle is a glorious beacon of lightMontizzle is a glorious beacon of lightMontizzle is a glorious beacon of lightMontizzle is a glorious beacon of lightMontizzle is a glorious beacon of light
You have to get new software.
__________________
99 Dakar M3
|Conforti|Sharked|TC Kline SA|DEPO||BBS|M50 MANIFOLD|UUC|DDM|SPARCO|OEM X BRACE||SSK|ECS TUNING|MISHIMOTO|
Montizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maf Question keepiteuro 3-Series (E21, E30) 0 06-15-2005 01:40 AM
Hid Conversion In Euro Ellipsoid Help dopeyx27 3-Series (E36) 5 04-12-2005 12:14 AM
Maf Sensor -pimpin328is- 3-Series (E36) 6 11-14-2004 01:57 AM
Euro Headlight conversion tico481 3-Series (E36) 16 07-11-2004 06:56 PM
MAF conversion? 1985bmw325e 3-Series (E21, E30) 7 03-10-2004 10:57 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.