engine swap 318ic to m3 - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 02:21 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
phenom is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to phenom
(Thread Starter)
I just completed my 95 e36 318 ic M42 engine to the M3 M50 engine. I had a cheap 60K M50 available complete with engine, tranny, drive shaft, differential, subframe, controll arms, wirering harness, ... Only one problem the instrument cluster was reprogammed (according to my mechanic-I don't know what tha really means). At idle it reads 1200 rpm, however when checked with the diagnostic computer the idel is under 800rpm any ideas what the problem is or how to fix it ?
phenom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 02:40 AM
5th Gear Member
 
BMWL2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMWL2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BMWL2
I would guess you may need the m3 gauge cluster installed also. When I put a sr20det into a 240sx I had to swap in a newer cluster to work with the ecu. If you have that option I would give it a try.

Motovated Motorsport Forums
http://www.motovatedcc.com
BMWL2 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 02:41 AM
5th Gear Member
 
BMWL2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMWL2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BMWL2
also just noticed you went from a 4cyl to a 6cyl I would almost bet that the cluster is the problem(going off of my experiences)

Motovated Motorsport Forums
http://www.motovatedcc.com
BMWL2 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 12:43 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
kestrel325is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kestrel325is is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by BMWL2@Jul 16 2004, 02:20 AM
I would guess you may need the m3 gauge cluster installed also. When I put a sr20det into a 240sx I had to swap in a newer cluster to work with the ecu. If you have that option I would give it a try.
Hey! You must have put that SR into an 89-90 model s13 then. I was considering that swap myself, but decided to shine the whole thing and get my BMW.

How long ago did you do the swap?
kestrel325is is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 12:57 PM
4th Gear Member
 
BlantonG13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florence, NJ
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BlantonG13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BlantonG13
sr20det

sick engine...Rice is good for something

That problem would most likely be the gauge cluster...for one the 4cyl only go up to 140mph on the dial and the M's and higher 6cyl go to 160mph. Calibration is obviously going to be different with different engiens and different computers.

1996 318i
5 Speed Manual

Alpine CDA-7895 Head Unit
12" Alpine Type-R, sealed box
Pioneer 400w amp for $20 at a yard sale (to replace my fried MRV-1507)
Infinity Kappa 4" 2-way speakers(rear)
Infinity Kappa 5.25" component speakers(front)
Debaffled airbox, K&N filter
Tracked Mud on carpets
Shampooed and cleaned carpets
BlantonG13 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 01:55 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ChahalzBMR is an unknown quantity at this point
It's your cluster for sure!!!! You HAVE to change the 318i cluster to the m3 in order to get proper readings. It can not be re-programmed. He lied! He just left it there and did not bother to replace it.

<img src='http://img43.exs.cx/img43/275/Resize.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Body: 318i 4 door
Mods: M50 engine, Jim C chip, light-weight flywheel, dual cat-back custom exhaust, 3:15 lsd, euro headlights w/angel eyes, 5300K HID, smoked corner lights, FK Motorsports foglights (crystal clear), ABS plastic upper eyebrow, clear side markers, M3 powered side mirrors w/LED, blacked out grill, M3 lighted shift knob, 17&quot; ROH Furry wheels w/Kumho tires, Brembo cross drilled rotors and Hawk performance brake pads all around, PSS9 Bilstein and H&amp;R coil over kit, front strut bar and Alpine alarm.
ChahalzBMR is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 07:31 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
phenom is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to phenom
(Thread Starter)
Thanks everybody we borrowed a m3 cluster and it works. I think the dial is actually calibrated different the spacing on the rmp dial is closer then on the 318. Incidently, the mph dial on my 318ic goes up to 160 not 140.
phenom is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 07:33 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
phenom is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to phenom
(Thread Starter)
P.S. I'm going to try to install a M3 colored dial face from bavarian autosport first before I install a new cluster (cluster is $450).
phenom is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 09:47 PM
4th Gear Member
 
BlantonG13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florence, NJ
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BlantonG13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BlantonG13
Interesting...I guess convertibles have different clusters than th other 318s

1996 318i
5 Speed Manual

Alpine CDA-7895 Head Unit
12&quot; Alpine Type-R, sealed box
Pioneer 400w amp for $20 at a yard sale (to replace my fried MRV-1507)
Infinity Kappa 4&quot; 2-way speakers(rear)
Infinity Kappa 5.25&quot; component speakers(front)
Debaffled airbox, K&amp;N filter
Tracked Mud on carpets
Shampooed and cleaned carpets
BlantonG13 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 10:42 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
t0pk0w is an unknown quantity at this point
i thought the m3 motor was an s50??? just wondering....
t0pk0w is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2004, 11:24 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
phenom is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to phenom
(Thread Starter)
It's the M3 motor. I may be wrong on this but I think in the US we got a beefed up M50 motor for the M3 while everyone else got the S50 with more power.
phenom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What parts needed besides engine for swap a224932 3-Series (E36) 5 09-06-2004 01:06 PM
1992 325IS engine + tranny swap danyal711 3-Series (E36) 6 08-20-2004 01:57 PM
Swapping a '94 318ic engine for a '95 m3 engine a224932 3-Series (E36) 1 07-28-2004 05:14 PM
engine swap, out with old 325i in with younger 325 OldBMR1 3-Series (E21, E30) 6 07-19-2004 08:08 AM
BMW P83 Engine triggrhaapi Bimmer Talk/Motorsports Talk 0 07-21-2003 03:03 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome