Electrical problems in 98 M3 - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 11-06-2009, 03:43 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Kissner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kissner is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Kissner
(Thread Starter)
Electrical problems in 98 M3

Hey everyong, long time since I been on here but I'm hoping your help will respark my interest in online forums. My 98 M3's battery light came on the other day, followed a few days later by my headlights going out, windows not working, interior lights going out and eventually my tach and speedo going out. After throwing jumper cables on it and letting it charge for 10 minutes or so I got a good 2 miles before all the same things happened again. Am I looking at a bad battery or alternator? Or something else? Battery was replaced a year ago and has not been run dry yet, so I would thnk that wouldnt be it. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
Kissner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 11-06-2009, 05:16 PM
1st Gear Member
 
CanadianWraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
CanadianWraith is on a distinguished road
have your alternator tested, sounds like it's done

CanadianWraith is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 11-06-2009, 06:18 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Kissner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kissner is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Kissner
(Thread Starter)
any way to test it myself or do u mean a shop? I"m trying to avoid a shop because of lack of money. I have a college buddy with an M and he has a shop I can do the work at, I just wanted to make sure it was the alternator before i ordered it and put the work in. Any other options or way to confirm it's the alternator?
Kissner is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 11-06-2009, 06:31 PM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
Some auto parts stores will do a free electrical check.

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 11-06-2009, 07:57 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
Remove teh alternator and take it to an auto parts stre. Have them bench test it for you. Do keep in mind that if the problem is with teh voltage regulator, which is embedded in the alternator for these cars, it may very well still pass the bench test.

drz is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 11-07-2009, 01:52 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Kissner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kissner is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Kissner
(Thread Starter)
Can i figure out he problem without the shop? I found a buddy whose parents happen to own a shop 20 miles from here, so I'm gonna drive it their and work on it. Does anyone know the brand or anything of the factory alternator, so I can make sure I'm buying the right replacement?
Kissner is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 11-07-2009, 02:59 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
Yes, you can figure out the problem without a shop. But first, take the alternator to the auto parts store for them to bench test the alternator for free.

As far as the brand, you will have to remove it to see if you have the Bosch unit or the Valeo unit. I would replace with the same thing I took off.

drz is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 11-08-2009, 03:16 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Kissner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kissner is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Kissner
(Thread Starter)
Why not upgrade to 120 amp? I have HID high and low beams and a fairly large stereo, it seems like getting a larger one would make more sense. If I mess with a different amperature alternator will i have to worry about fitment? The site says it's a direct replacement for OEM
Kissner is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 11-08-2009, 03:43 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
It should be okay.

drz is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 11-08-2009, 08:15 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
318kid is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to 318kid
not an electric genious as i have my own electric problems but you should probably put a capacitor or two if you have a big system.

*IF ITS FAST AND CHEAP, ITS NOT RELIABLE*
*IF ITS CHEAP AND RELIABLE, ITS NOT FAST*
*IF ITS FAST AND RELIABLE, ITS NOT CHEAP*
318kid is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 11-09-2009, 02:32 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Kissner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kissner is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Kissner
(Thread Starter)
My car has the Valeo unit. Can someone tell me if any of these are the correct one?
Discount Car Parts Stuff - Car Accessories & Truck Accessories - Cheap Auto Parts - Car Cover - Floor Mats - Cargo Liner - 1998 BMW M3 Alternator Stock Replacement
Please look at the higher amp ones, 80 or 140
Kissner is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 11-09-2009, 03:17 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
Looks like the right one. Is this a seller you know and trust?

drz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electrical problems Karlf 3-Series (E36) 3 01-04-2009 11:16 AM
Electrical Problems... Damnit 3-Series (E46, E90) 5 06-14-2005 03:03 PM
My Electrical Problems e30_325i 3-Series (E21, E30) 4 03-06-2005 10:44 PM
Electrical Problems lulul 3-Series (E36) 4 01-11-2005 04:52 PM
Electrical Problems Numark318i 3-Series (E21, E30) 2 01-05-2005 02:34 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome