ECU Location - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-06-2006, 11:58 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
zp619 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
ECU Location

I was wondering if anyone knew where the ECU is located in a 1994 325i. Thx for the help
zp619 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-07-2006, 12:32 AM
Sodium Chloride
 
saltshaker185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 3,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to saltshaker185 Send a message via MSN to saltshaker185
back left of the engine bay... near the glove box...

http://www.pelicanparts.com/BMW/tech...ip_Install.htm

Last edited by saltshaker185; 07-07-2006 at 12:37 AM.
saltshaker185 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-07-2006, 11:00 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
zp619 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thx for the help
zp619 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-18-2006, 06:39 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
zp619 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Glove Box

I am having some difficulties getting the glove box out. Anyone have any ideas?
zp619 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-18-2006, 07:11 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
kestrel325is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kestrel325is is an unknown quantity at this point
there are 4 screws that hold the glove box in, and there is a 10mm bolt behind (above) the glove box light.

However, if you're going for the ECU, open the hood and remove the black rubber cover near the passenger's side of the firewall.

Hope this helps.
kestrel325is is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-26-2007, 09:41 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sunset is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by kestrel325is
there are 4 screws that hold the glove box in, and there is a 10mm bolt behind (above) the glove box light.

However, if you're going for the ECU, open the hood and remove the black rubber cover near the passenger's side of the firewall.

Hope this helps.
so how easy or hard is it to remove, can you tell me more on how to remove it thanks
sunset is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-26-2007, 11:15 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
thekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson MS
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunset
so how easy or hard is it to remove, can you tell me more on how to remove it thanks
If you follow the link above it will give you the pictures and the rest of the article. This part is about 1/2 down or so. ECU/DME are the same thing.

Quoted from the link above:

Installation of a chip is a very easy process. The DME computer is located on the right side of the engine compartment (Figure 1). First, disconnect the battery. Pull back the rubber foam (Figure 2), and you will see the cover that protects the compartment (Figure 3). Remove the cover (four screws) from the compartment and you should see the DME and its harness. Pull back on the small lever on the harness, and you should be able to disconnect it (Figure 4). The DME is held in place by two clips – it should simply slide out (Figure 5). Place the unit on your workbench, and remove the four Torx screws (Figure 6) that hold the cover on. Then, flip the unit over and pry off the six tabs on the bottom. Don’t be too concerned with damaging these tabs, as they aren’t super important in holding the case together. With the tabs detached, pull the metal cover off, and you should see the circuit board (Figure 7). The chip is covered by a small piece of white plastic (Figure 8).

At this point, you might want to put on a static wrist strap, or merely touch something that’s grounded (like a metal lamp housing or a radiator). In all the years of playing with electronics, I’ve very rarely had a problem with static electricity, but once and a while something doesn’t work properly, and you can only guess as to why not. Carefully pop the chip out of the DME unit (Figure 9) and put the new one in (Figure 10). Make sure that the small divot in the new chip faces the same direction as the old one – it is possible to put it in backwards. Seal up the unit, reinstall it, hook up the battery, and you’re done!
thekid is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-26-2007, 12:44 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sunset is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekid
If you follow the link above it will give you the pictures and the rest of the article. This part is about 1/2 down or so. ECU/DME are the same thing.

Quoted from the link above:

Installation of a chip is a very easy process. The DME computer is located on the right side of the engine compartment (Figure 1). First, disconnect the battery. Pull back the rubber foam (Figure 2), and you will see the cover that protects the compartment (Figure 3). Remove the cover (four screws) from the compartment and you should see the DME and its harness. Pull back on the small lever on the harness, and you should be able to disconnect it (Figure 4). The DME is held in place by two clips Ė it should simply slide out (Figure 5). Place the unit on your workbench, and remove the four Torx screws (Figure 6) that hold the cover on. Then, flip the unit over and pry off the six tabs on the bottom. Donít be too concerned with damaging these tabs, as they arenít super important in holding the case together. With the tabs detached, pull the metal cover off, and you should see the circuit board (Figure 7). The chip is covered by a small piece of white plastic (Figure 8).

At this point, you might want to put on a static wrist strap, or merely touch something thatís grounded (like a metal lamp housing or a radiator). In all the years of playing with electronics, Iíve very rarely had a problem with static electricity, but once and a while something doesnít work properly, and you can only guess as to why not. Carefully pop the chip out of the DME unit (Figure 9) and put the new one in (Figure 10). Make sure that the small divot in the new chip faces the same direction as the old one Ė it is possible to put it in backwards. Seal up the unit, reinstall it, hook up the battery, and youíre done!
thats great,many thanks...
sunset is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAF or ECU nookatee 3-Series (E36) 6 05-02-2006 10:00 PM
ECU sleep mode velour 3-Series (E46, E90) 2 11-02-2005 11:58 PM
Location of ICV on M44 318iS engine Rich328 3-Series (E36) 5 09-16-2005 09:55 PM
Plug-in location of outside temp sensor am4tide 3-Series (E36) 4 09-10-2004 11:53 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome