Ecu......chip....help!?!?! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2005, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Car:
Posts: 692
Photos:
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
hey guys, i just need something cleared up for me. i have alot of honda friends and all i ever hear them talking about it ecu's stuff, you know, performance computers. well what i'm wondering is............would it help my 95 325is any if i upgrade my ecu? or can you even upgrade? i read once where a guy put an m3 ecu in his ride but not sure if it helped or anything, and if you can upgrade them on e36's then what are some good ones to look into? thanx!
kyle_baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2005, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
e36surge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Car:
Posts: 449
Photos:
e36surge is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to e36surge Send a message via MSN to e36surge
Check out the link below. I'm planning on this upgrade as well. Yes you can upgrade.

COMFORTI is one. I'm still looking at others. This is what I've found so far.

http://www.autowerks.com/xcart/custo...me.php?cat=282

http://member.rivernet.com.au/btaylor/BMWT...ectionsE36.html

http://member.rivernet.com.au/btaylor/BMWT...ew92325E36.html

http://member.rivernet.com.au/btaylor/BMWT...isBigPower.html

http://www.activeautowerke.com/software/obd-I.cfm
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough."
- Mario Andretti



1979 320is RiP
1994 318is Sold
1995 325is Sold
1995 530i Sold
2004 M3
e36surge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 10:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Car:
Posts: 3,441
Photos:
jllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Yes, bavauto, turnermotorsport, Active Autowerkes, and several other BMW outfitters offer aftermarket software upgrades for your car. Keep in mind it won't transform your car, it'll just maximize what your currently running.

Expect 10-15hp incrcease and roughly the same for tq.
__________________
jllphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Car:
Posts: 692
Photos:
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
yeah, i plan on getting a conforti chip, but i mean, is that the only thing you can upgrade? or can you upgrade the whole box it's installed into?
kyle_baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 04:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Car: Blah
Posts: 5,375
Photos:
97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Well... since your using a 95 obd 1 ecu any ways... there are complete programs you can run... its often called main stand alone engine managment... this software enables you to tweek and run off the ecu more programs... and software to let her be changed... obd 2 software cannot do this due to many restrictions with the exhaust and what not.. thats why there are ecu changes between obd 2 back to an obd1... for a great ability to tune fuel curves... fuel managment... ect ect... With your existing obd 1 ecu you can install a hard chip... which is different from the obd 2 systems in the place of an actual chip.. our 96 and later cars require a flash program to work through the diagnotic port in those cars... since there is no provision allowed for a "hard" chip to be placed in a obd 2 system. So... this leaves you with a few options... go all out and run stand alone engine managment through the ecu with hooked up diagnostics through a separate computer... which with many stock systems.. mainly fuel, air and exhaust... wont gather you much hp or tq... but with a hard chip from one of the above places.. you'll be fine..

Les
__________________

1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 09:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Car:
Posts: 35
Photos:
bmwfanatice36 is an unknown quantity at this point
I have Dinan Chip.... i am very satisfied!!!
its amazing!
go with the Dinan if u have the money, its a lil more than most of the other options, but it outperforms...
you can always count on dinan for the best stuff.... (also the highest prices!)
bmwfanatice36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 12:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Car:
Posts: 692
Photos:
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
ok........ ..........i'm confused........so i CAN upgrade the ecu by using the "main stand alone engine managment" thing OR i can just get a conforti chip? Basically the chip does everything that the computer stuff would do too? or can you do both at the same time or would they conflict with one another?
kyle_baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 09:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Car: Blah
Posts: 5,375
Photos:
97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Ok... sorry to complicate it...

A stand alone computer system costs thousands... its what competitive race cars use to tune their engines and systems to the T for they want out of the engine...

A chip... in your case a 'hard' chip from Conforti or Dinan.. or who ever you like... is what you want... you buy it... open it up.. and install.. easy as pie... nothing more.. nothing less...

No a chip will not do what a stand a lone engine managment system will do... you can not change options with chips.. unless you get a custom chip from a tuner... though a few hours on a dyno... ect ect.. AA does stuff like that... and a few other places... but a chip off the internet from one of these places.. ( I prefer Conforti.. and wont ever buy anything from Dinan... not worth the money IMO) will do you just fine...

Hope that clears it up a bit,

Les
__________________

1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 10:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Car:
Posts: 692
Photos:
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
ok, makes sense, i'm going with conforti as well, the performance gains are greater with conforti than with dinan anyways.
kyle_baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 02:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Car:
Posts: 35
Photos:
bmwfanatice36 is an unknown quantity at this point
in almost all comparisons n tests.... the dinan chip is better for the track, and the conforti chip is better for hte street. so if your doing races forinstant a quatermile, the dinan is better.
do some research...
i know many members have been choosing conforti, but if u know someone who has it, drive both, ull feel a diffence, and see which one you are more comfortable with.
bmwfanatice36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 04:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Car:
Posts: 692
Photos:
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
i know what you are saying, but just look at the performance gains! Conforti's gains are much greater than Dinan. Everyone knows Dinan is top knotch quality and excellent performance, but the figures show the difference and conforti seems to have larger figures. Anyways, even this guys switched from dinan to conforti.......

http://www.understeer.com/m3.shtml
(Performance Upgrades)
kyle_baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review Of Conforti Chip jshearer Product Reviews 7 12-25-2008 12:09 AM
Chip Made My Car Slower gonzonick 3-Series (E36) 12 10-25-2005 02:46 PM
Authetic Dinan Chip bimmer_boy Classifieds Sell & Buy 21 01-12-2005 12:53 PM
540i Chip jspit23 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 13 12-17-2004 03:02 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.