Easy Way To Check Transmission Fluid - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-28-2005, 09:41 PM
1st Gear Member
 
BMW-ATI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMW-ATI is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BMW-ATI
(Thread Starter)
Since my bmw obviously doesnt have a tranmission dipstick or one i cant see at least?

is there any easy way to check and see how transmission fluid I have

bmw 325is auto 1993
BMW-ATI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-28-2005, 11:15 PM
1st Gear Member
 
BMW-ATI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMW-ATI is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BMW-ATI
(Thread Starter)
anyone?
BMW-ATI is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-28-2005, 11:48 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
camnipotent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
camnipotent is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to camnipotent Send a message via MSN to camnipotent
It should be in the back of the engine. It's shorter than the oil dipstick. Some BMW's have "Lifetime ATF" that you are not supposed to ever have to change. If you do, you can only get the flud from BMW.

<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:blue'>1998 BMW 323is Coupe, Black
Manual
18&quot; M3 Hyper Silver Rims
2 12&quot; Rockford Fosgate Subs; Sealed
1.0 Farad Capacitor
800 Watt 2-Way Rockford Fosgate Amplifier</span></span>
camnipotent is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 12:04 AM
1st Gear Member
 
BMW-ATI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMW-ATI is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BMW-ATI
(Thread Starter)
Anyone got a pic,
i dont see it on my 93 325is?
BMW-ATI is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 10:31 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Gkamysz is an unknown quantity at this point
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detai...=glance&s=books

Buy one of these. It will be the best $50 you spend on your car.

700 pages of information pertaining specifically to your BMW.

Greg

97 328iS, Manual, Stock
Gkamysz is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 10:56 AM
1st Gear Member
 
BMW-ATI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMW-ATI is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BMW-ATI
(Thread Starter)
I know Im going to here soon, but still anyone got a pic?
BMW-ATI is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 11:12 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Gkamysz is an unknown quantity at this point
I can check the manual when I get home. I think some of them don't actually have a dipsitck.

Greg

97 328iS, Manual, Stock
Gkamysz is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 11:25 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
e36surge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
e36surge is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to e36surge Send a message via MSN to e36surge
Okay lets do this one more time....

GO TO THIS LINK: http://www.pelicanparts.com/BMW/techarticl..._Fluid_Auto.htm

You DO NOT have a dip stick... READ the article... this forum is here to help YOU solve the problem.... the article is very well written and very clear... so READ IT because it actually answers your question for this thread and I gave you this link in another thread related to this same issue...

If you don't want to do it yourself then print the article and give it to your mechanic. Buy the fluid from BMW.... AND BMW will know how much fluid to give you...

NO I don't know how much the fluid is... call BMW and ask.
NO I don't know what a mechanic will charge... it varies by the region you're in...
YES IT's easy to do yourself and NO I can't do it for you from my computer.

Good luck...

Remember you're more likely to be helped if you help yourself... get the book as others suggest... it is very useful.
e36surge is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 11:42 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
e36surge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
e36surge is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to e36surge Send a message via MSN to e36surge
here... the attached files may help as well...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture_4.jpg
Views:	699
Size:	115.4 KB
ID:	21573   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture_5.jpg
Views:	1613
Size:	200.5 KB
ID:	21574   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture_6.jpg
Views:	1260
Size:	195.2 KB
ID:	21575  
e36surge is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 11:47 AM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
here is the way i check my tranny fluid,

pop the side plug (not the bottom one or you gonna be doing a tranny oil change)

now when you pop the plug, have a rag directly below the plug just in case of spillover. now if you do get a bit of spillover than immediately you know the level is good. but if you dont, than stick your finger in the hole and you should be able to feel the level, if its just slightly lower than the hole than your still ok, however if its considerably lower like say 4-5cm's than you should just top it up untill you get that spillover.

that was the way i was taught. and it works, its hard to measure actual levels when there is no dipstick however you should know ifyou need a bit more or not when you stick you finger in...


now normally when i check mine it doesnt spillover but if i stick my finger in to check , when i pull out some atf comes out and spills on the ground, usually i know than that im ok.

Furious is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 03:20 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
e36surge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
e36surge is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to e36surge Send a message via MSN to e36surge
^^ What He Said...
e36surge is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 03:28 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
camnipotent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
camnipotent is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to camnipotent Send a message via MSN to camnipotent
Yeah....I don't think it will be possible to overfill it, but make sure you don't. If you do, it can foam up plus the extra pressure on the tranny can destroy it.

<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:blue'>1998 BMW 323is Coupe, Black
Manual
18&quot; M3 Hyper Silver Rims
2 12&quot; Rockford Fosgate Subs; Sealed
1.0 Farad Capacitor
800 Watt 2-Way Rockford Fosgate Amplifier</span></span>
camnipotent is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 09:47 PM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
naw you cant overfill, its pretty much fool proof (sorry if someone DID overfill LOL)

Furious is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 07-30-2005, 01:56 AM
1st Gear Member
 
BMW-ATI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMW-ATI is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BMW-ATI
(Thread Starter)
Ill do that, i guess any size wrench will work, do I need to really torque the nut though?
BMW-ATI is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 07-30-2005, 03:30 AM
3rd Gear Member
 
camnipotent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
camnipotent is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to camnipotent Send a message via MSN to camnipotent
You should be able to tell when it is on tight. Some manuals may contain torque numbers for certain bolts and nuts, but I don't know if this one is covered.

<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:blue'>1998 BMW 323is Coupe, Black
Manual
18&quot; M3 Hyper Silver Rims
2 12&quot; Rockford Fosgate Subs; Sealed
1.0 Farad Capacitor
800 Watt 2-Way Rockford Fosgate Amplifier</span></span>
camnipotent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATF oil? sanjose 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 02-01-2009 02:35 AM
Transmission Fluid Location? Where? swank 3-Series (E36) 8 06-15-2004 06:25 PM
Warning! Cashier's Check Fraud L337E46 Classifieds Sell & Buy 2 03-06-2004 04:04 PM
service questions thamindzzeye 3-Series (E36) 4 04-30-2003 03:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome