BMW Werkz banner

e36grant's misshift saga DIY

984 views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  dannyb 
#1 · (Edited)
Greetings members of bimmerwerkz.com

Long read, so if you just want to skip to the log and the questions, scroll down to the red text.

I'm not experienced at all in working with cars, nevermind BMW's, and this is my first car AND first car to have worked on. It's a 1994 325iC and I love it to bits. I've DIY'd a number of various problems having access to tools which include replacing the rear trailing arm, bearing, and axle - oil filter housing gasket, valve cover gasket and fan delete mod.

Now 3 or 4 weeks ago, a terrible thing happened. I did the dreaded moneyshift. I was in 4th on the highway anywhere inbetween 80-100km/h, when I was passing someone. I went to drop into 3rd, but it went into 1st. I tried to correct myself and it somehow went into 1st again. Pegged the rev limiter for a number of seconds, enough for the tires to lock up.

I was under alot of stress at the time and very distracted, with music going, windows shut, etc. I know I didn't NEED to go into 3rd or pass someone, but live and learn.

Anyway, all seemed good the rest of the way home, until when I went to pull up my driveway,
my car sounded like it was going to stall, but the rpms were steady 700 idle. It sounded like a cammed out v8, not smooth at all. The entire car rumbles very hard, you can even see the exhaust shaking a good deal, and the whole motor. No weird sounds came from the motor though. It revved up freely.

I spoke to some local people who are handy with cars and they said it sounded like it skipped timing. I posted over on bimmerforums and they said it sounded like bent valves.

Being so short on money, and knowing someone who is very mechanically inclined who can help me out and let me use all his tools, I'm deciding to DIY.

I know that I'm going to need to pull the head and get a head gasket kit. and from there on I'm not sure what to expect.