E36 cluster swap? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-04-2011, 12:49 AM
1st Gear Member
 
acid86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edwards AFB, S. Cali... unfortunately
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
acid86 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to acid86 Send a message via Yahoo to acid86
(Thread Starter)
E36 cluster swap?

So, I need a new main instrument cluster for my '92 318is. Found one for an ///M3.

Any one say I shouldn't snatch it up for the 30 bucks it's posted for and try it in the 318?

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones." - Albert Einstein
acid86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-04-2011, 11:03 AM
Millions of them.
 
Torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 14,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute
The tachometer wont read correctly ... it will be off by 33 percent (though I'm having a hard time remembering if it's more or less) due to 2 less cylinders.

Torque is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-04-2011, 11:28 AM
1st Gear Member
 
acid86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edwards AFB, S. Cali... unfortunately
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
acid86 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to acid86 Send a message via Yahoo to acid86
(Thread Starter)
Could I still use the motors and or gauge faces as parts?

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones." - Albert Einstein
acid86 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-04-2011, 04:32 PM
1st Gear Member
 
BrianXE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BrianXE36 is on a distinguished road
Absolutely. But make sure the gauge faces have the same readouts for your current vehicle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnybayonne View Post
I eat, sleep, & breathe BMW
BrianXE36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can you swap out an e39 m5 cluster to a 98 540ia shafaaz540 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 12-12-2008 11:42 PM
Instrument Cluster Swap E46 acon 3-Series (E46, E90) 2 11-10-2008 10:12 AM
cluster wtb.. I really need one!!1 rmousir OEM Parts 5 12-02-2007 07:31 PM
Swap cluster US to CDN Jayman 3-Series (E36) 7 10-30-2006 10:36 PM
Cluster yamaha405 3-Series (E21, E30) 1 02-23-2005 06:08 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome