BMW Werkz banner

E36 1994 - engine will not start

10K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  basrite 
#1 ·
hi guys this is my first time on a forum so i applogise if im doing it wrongand im sorry im not mechanically minded so i appologise if im not using mechanical lingo.
i have a BMW 318i 1994 E36 m43 (chain) sohc ... ive just had the engine rebuilt and the engine is fine but every time i turn the key to start it nothing happens no noise is coming from the engine ... lights work and so does wondows everything electrical works so i assume the battery is fine. but nothing is making an noise in the engine bay .. ive checked the fuses all fine and im stuck for ideas ... could it be the starter motor ?

thanks for any help anyone can offer

#2 ·
Well.... you have a very vage discription here. You should Probably start with wiring... if your starter is wired up correctly to your ignition then you should atleast here it try to turn over. unless your engine is locked up. If it is locked up then you should atleast hear a click sound of some sort. Start from the last step you took when completing this build and work your way backwords and go over every step SLOWLY. If your not the one that did this build then i would make the machanic Fix it....

#3 ·
yeah im sorry that it is vauge. i rang BMW yesturday they said it is either the power wire that goes into the Starter motor is shorting out, or the ignition relay has gone, or the Starter motor has died completley.

if that doesnt work (replacing the relay) or checking the wiring ill send it back to the mechanic.. thanks for your help :)

#5 ·
hi i got the same prob as you , turn my key ignition key lights go dim , i have a auto 318is m3 rep 1996 , and to get it started i have 2 have a jump start and the other car has 2 be started to make mines start , how did u fix yours n where is the starter motor relay..? thanksss ssss

#6 ·
A dimming and no click usually means the starter solenoid is gone.