Clutch Has No Resistance...need Help!! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-17-2005, 03:31 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
SDSUe36 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Came out to my car this morning and when I pushed the clutch pedal in it just fell to the floor, wouldn't come off until I lifted it back up with my foot, so the Clutch WILL NOT disengage.

The clutch itself is doing fine at 119K miles, no slipping.

I took off the underpart of the dash and noticed the pedal is attached to what looks like a hydraulic shock....maybe there is no more fluid in there???

I don't know a whole lot about these cars but i'm an engineering student and am pretty competent as far as mechanical repair in general, so I just need some guidance.

My first thought is "oh shit there goes my tranny", but it's never had any problems until this morning, so i'm thinking it has to do with hydraulic pressure. I noticed i've been leaking some fluid that I just found out was tranny fluid, however, I just had the fluid checked about a week ago and they said it was fine.

I CAN'T FIND THE TRANNY FLUID DIPSTICK....where is that located???

Basically my question is what could theoretically fail to cause this symptom?? Once I get a list i'll just go down and systematically check everything.

Thanks again everyone!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 01-17-2005, 03:44 PM
n00b

SDSUe36 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
UPDATE: