Cluster ? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2004, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 254
Photos:
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
I'm going to buy a used m3 cluster because the guy I bought my bimmer from had installed these cheap ebay indiglo gauges and plus it's scratched up. My question is, If I get a used cluster...does the odometer need to be reprogrammed to my car's actual miles or is the odometer computerized...meaning, will show the car's actual odometer reading for any car once plugged in?
Brian325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2004, 08:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 6
Photos:
Caps is an unknown quantity at this point
Yep the cluster contains the mileage info so it will have to be reprogrammed. Note that the cluster also contains other info if I remember correctly so best bet would be to take it to a BMW agent and have it reprogrammed.
Caps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2004, 10:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
/Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nap town
Car:
Posts: 251
Photos:
okczy21 is an unknown quantity at this point
you could just take off the indiglo gauges, they are just overlays on the stock ones
okczy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2004, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 254
Photos:
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Yeah but the cluster I have is scratched up and plus I don't have the original gauges.
Brian325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2004, 05:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
LOS
4th Gear Member
 
LOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: L.A Calif.
Car: 97 540IA, 95 840CI
Posts: 863
Photos:
LOS is an unknown quantity at this point
Brian325i, a cluster only displays general information, it doesn't store anything. odometer mileage is store in the computer...

LOS
LOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2004, 07:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 254
Photos:
Brian325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Lol...ok well I'm getting two differen't answers...which one is correct??
Brian325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2004, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
325isBaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Spokane, WA
Car: 2005 330xi
Posts: 1,003
Photos:
325isBaby is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to 325isBaby
The cluster stores VIN, mileage, SIA data etc...and it is VERY important all these items match your car since they are also stored Redundantly in the LM...if the items do not match it will perminatly illuminate the manipulation dot in the mileage portion of the cluster...you must have the cluster re-programmed to keep this from happening.
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/330xigirl
Come see me at MySpace
325isBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 09:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
LOS
4th Gear Member
 
LOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: L.A Calif.
Car: 97 540IA, 95 840CI
Posts: 863
Photos:
LOS is an unknown quantity at this point
Just call the parts dept at the dealer.. Usually these guys will answer many of your questions

Good luck

LOS
LOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M5 Cluster in a 540i, will it work? ///Matt 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 5 10-13-2005 10:26 AM
Instrument Cluster Wiring spinkb 3-Series (E21, E30) 6 03-06-2005 08:39 AM
Instrument cluster removal shaman97 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 07-01-2004 03:13 PM
new instrument cluster. hodges 3-Series (E36) 7 05-30-2003 07:49 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.