Clocks - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2006, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Car:
Posts: 31
Photos:
StokeM3Rep is on a distinguished road
Clocks

i need new clocks but does the milage matter will the car put the milage on the clocks or do i have 2 get clocks with the same milage?!?
__________________
StokeM3Rep is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-26-2006, 12:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
polaris448's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Car:
Posts: 148
Photos:
polaris448 is an unknown quantity at this point
as for the instrument cluster i think there is a chip in back of the cluster that holds the odometer info. i have heard that if you do not have a dealer do the swap than the car could be classified as a TMU. then you have halved the value of the car but that is just what i have heard.
polaris448 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 12:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Car:
Posts: 31
Photos:
StokeM3Rep is on a distinguished road
thanx for that any one know roughly how much a dealer will charge ?
__________________
StokeM3Rep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 01:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
WarNox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Car:
Posts: 780
Photos:
WarNox is an unknown quantity at this point
ring and ask, they might be expensive but i've have always been helpfull like that.
__________________
<img src='http://www.geocities.com/thereisnothinglikeabmw/mycar1.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
WarNox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 02:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Car:
Posts: 31
Photos:
StokeM3Rep is on a distinguished road
ive just put a bid in on some 316 clocks any e36 clock will do wont they from another post ive seen the millage comes from the ECU nice on bruv laters
__________________
StokeM3Rep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Car:
Posts: 294
Photos:
Hamfisted is on a distinguished road
Mileage is on both...

The mileage is recorded on both, the ECU AND the Odometer computer chip. If the odometer differs from what the ECU knows to be the recorded mileage you will get a little red "error" LED right next to the odometer mileage readout. So unless you try to sell the car to someone that knows what that red LED is on for, that's the only problem you'll have with the installation.
But the ECU and odometer mileage have to match up or you get the red LED.




Mike
Hamfisted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 07:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Car:
Posts: 31
Photos:
StokeM3Rep is on a distinguished road
cant i have something swapped from my current clocks to the new ones ? like the chip that stores that info ?

Chris
__________________
StokeM3Rep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 10:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
SpooldUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 12590, NY
Car: 99 323i ragtop
Posts: 477
Photos:
SpooldUp will become famous soon enoughSpooldUp will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to SpooldUp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamfisted
The mileage is recorded on both, the ECU AND the Odometer computer chip. If the odometer differs from what the ECU knows to be the recorded mileage you will get a little red "error" LED right next to the odometer mileage readout. So unless you try to sell the car to someone that knows what that red LED is on for, that's the only problem you'll have with the installation.
But the ECU and odometer mileage have to match up or you get the red LED.




Mike

So that;s what that big honkin' LED over there is. I thought it was for something cool...oh well TFTI Mike.
__________________
'99 323i 5spd


<CENTER>

</CENTER>


where's my beer?
best website ever



"I'm not even supposed to be here today"

SpooldUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bulb replacement scottcbr600 3-Series (E36) 4 05-08-2006 01:04 AM
Dash Clocks e30rig 3-Series (E21, E30) 3 03-08-2005 12:30 PM
Clicking?scrapping noise near clocks 325iSPHINX 3-Series (E21, E30) 0 06-29-2004 05:36 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.