Climate Control Reads Deg C - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2005, 09:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Car:
Posts: 63
Photos:
kvadgama is an unknown quantity at this point
Just installed new climate control and reads temperature in C.
How would I change it so that reads temperature in F?

K
kvadgama is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2005, 09:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
2ndclasscitizen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tony Blairs Britian
Car:
Posts: 65
Photos:
2ndclasscitizen is an unknown quantity at this point
I think you press the km/mph button, but I dont know if it depends on the type of OBC.
__________________
<img src='http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v225/2ndclasscitizen/martinmkcsig.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

<span style='font-size:9pt;line-height:100%'>It's better than doing crack.</span>
2ndclasscitizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Car:
Posts: 63
Photos:
kvadgama is an unknown quantity at this point
kmh /mph button only works for bottom unit (ie outside temp, miles/Km etc).
I tried that button (kmh / mph), and it does not change climate control temp from C to F.
Do you think I might have gottan european version. I got it from the dealer here in US.

K
kvadgama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 10:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Car:
Posts: 3,677
Photos:
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
there is a way to change it, i know its in the manaul.. beause i've done it before.. i think u have to hit "set/res" but i am not sure
__________________
-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 11:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Car:
Posts: 102
Photos:
RallyE36 is an unknown quantity at this point
You most likely have the Canadian version climate control.
They are usually the only ones that come to NA.

As far as I know you cannot change the unit's temperature reading.
You may have to do it through the ECU. I would check with the service department of your local dealer just to make sure.
__________________
1996 E36 M44 318i 5sp LSD
Canadian Model
RallyE36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
dutchbmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SW Minnesota
Car:
Posts: 5,370
Photos:
dutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to dutchbmw
I think there's no possibility to do that.
__________________
BMW '96 M3 (SOLD)
June 2005 Car Of The Month!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torque
I was just dropped off here by aliens one day. They got bored with me.
dutchbmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 02:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Car: 2001 330i & 2011 550i
Posts: 7,254
Photos:
Delmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
if you have the 6 button OBC or pre-1995 OBC then just hit the C/F button twice....

if you don't have that then get in the habit of multiplying the number you see by 9/5 and adding 32 to get F....
__________________
Delmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 03:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
dutchbmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SW Minnesota
Car:
Posts: 5,370
Photos:
dutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond reputedutchbmw has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to dutchbmw
Quote:
Originally posted by Delmarco@Apr 17 2005, 09:49 PM
if you don't have that then get in the habit of multiplying the number you see by 9/5 and adding 32 to get F....
[snapback]333924[/snapback]
Here's a tool specially made for your problem!
right click save as
__________________
BMW '96 M3 (SOLD)
June 2005 Car Of The Month!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torque
I was just dropped off here by aliens one day. They got bored with me.
dutchbmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 03:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Dirty_Tool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Car:
Posts: 1,052
Photos:
Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute
The unit needs to be encoded by a BMW shop with the factory GT1 or Modic or DIS+ and then after encoding, the temp display can be changed via the path "conversion" in the BMW tester.
DT
__________________
DT




Dirty_Tool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Car: 2001 330i & 2011 550i
Posts: 7,254
Photos:
Delmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond reputeDelmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Quote:
Originally posted by Dirty_Tool@Apr 17 2005, 02:31 PM
The unit needs to be encoded by a BMW shop with the factory GT1 or Modic or DIS+ and then after encoding, the temp display can be changed via the path "conversion" in the BMW tester.
DT
[snapback]333943[/snapback]
or you could just press the C/F button
__________________
Delmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 05:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Car:
Posts: 63
Photos:
kvadgama is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Delmarco+Apr 17 2005, 03:01 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Delmarco @ Apr 17 2005, 03:01 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-Dirty_Tool@Apr 17 2005, 02:31 PM
The unit needs to be encoded by a BMW shop with the factory GT1 or Modic or DIS+ and then after encoding, the temp display can be changed via the path "conversion" in the BMW tester.
DT
[snapback]333943[/snapback]
or you could just press the C/F button
[snapback]333952[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]


I have 96 328 and it has NO CF button.
And also getting a habit of multiply 9/5 and add 32 is just too much for my brain.
I'd rather use my butt as the temperature thermometer, LOL.

K
kvadgama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 07:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Dirty_Tool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Car:
Posts: 1,052
Photos:
Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally posted by Delmarco+Apr 17 2005, 01:01 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Delmarco @ Apr 17 2005, 01:01 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-Dirty_Tool@Apr 17 2005, 02:31 PM
The unit needs to be encoded by a BMW shop with the factory GT1 or Modic or DIS+ and then after encoding, the temp display can be changed via the path "conversion" in the BMW tester.
DT
[snapback]333943[/snapback]
or you could just press the C/F button
[snapback]333952[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]

He obviously doesnt have 1 or he wouldnt be posting. He changed the climate control computer not the time-temperature clock if you read his original post. The only way to change the temp display on the climate control panel is through encoding.
DT
__________________
DT




Dirty_Tool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 10:10 AM   #13 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Car:
Posts: 63
Photos:
kvadgama is an unknown quantity at this point
Here's the pic to clarify the unit in question.
I have a feeling that dealer might have to program it.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Climate Control Reads Deg C-dsc_0021.jpg  
kvadgama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 11:45 AM   #14 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Dirty_Tool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Car:
Posts: 1,052
Photos:
Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond reputeDirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute
Um yeah, thats what I've been saying.

DT
__________________
DT




Dirty_Tool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 01:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Car:
Posts: 628
Photos:
wulley1 is an unknown quantity at this point
I agree with Dirty Tool, the dealership has to do it. The dealership reprogrammed mine after I replaced it. I think they charged me about $150.

Does anyone know if it will rese back to C if you loose/disconnect your battery?
wulley1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
climate control fan speed sanga 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 4 06-02-2010 11:47 AM
BMW has perhaps the WORST climate control SpeedsterBMW 3-Series (E46, E90) 27 05-03-2010 09:59 AM
Rebuilding your e36 climate control computer 98e36bostonchic OEM Parts 2 10-18-2005 09:09 AM
Climate Control Rookie 3-Series (E36) 9 03-14-2005 11:51 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.