Climate control display - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-15-2006, 02:33 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
(Thread Starter)
Climate control display

The display on my automatic climate control unit does not worked. In fact, it has never worked since I have owned the car. I know about the fix for faulty units that consists of replacing the final stage capacitor. However, my unit operates perfectly, except for the fact that the display does not work. I have read in some places that the final stage capacitor will not fix this problem. Is this true?

drz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-16-2006, 01:49 AM
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Posts: 3,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
is it dials?? or electric??

i sopposed u can find 1 on ebay...?? or it could just be the light...

-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-16-2006, 03:55 AM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
328's all had button/electric.. im trying to remember what it looks like, is it the same pixels as the OBC? if so do you think either the bulb is blown or the actual pixel board is gone?

Furious is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-16-2006, 09:56 AM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
(Thread Starter)
Yes, digital. The pixel board works. I imagine it would be the backlight that is out. A guy sells used, repaired ones for $185 on eBay. I would like not to have to spend that much on this.

drz is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-17-2006, 02:55 AM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
why not replace the backlight.. im not sure if its bulb or not but worth a look see.

Furious is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-17-2006, 05:55 AM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
(Thread Starter)
The problem is that the display is one whole unit that is soldered on the board. I have everything I would need to desolder it and put it back in, but I don't think it is worth the risk. A guy who repairs them on eBay says that the display and or bulbs (for that particular display) are not available by themselves. I may try to rig something up with LEDs in there, although there is really not much room. OLEDs maybe...

drz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
climate control fan speed sanga 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 4 06-02-2010 11:47 AM
BMW has perhaps the WORST climate control SpeedsterBMW 3-Series (E46, E90) 27 05-03-2010 09:59 AM
Rebuilding your e36 climate control computer 98e36bostonchic OEM Parts 2 10-18-2005 09:09 AM
Climate Control Rookie 3-Series (E36) 9 03-14-2005 11:51 AM
Climate Control Module Upgrade E46 BMWNUT 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 10-21-2004 01:09 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome