Climate Control - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 03-13-2005, 12:51 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rookie is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy

Alright this has been bugging me for a while! My climate control on my car is acting really screwy!

At first the backlight flickered a little, but nothing else was dimming and it shut off sporadically(sp?), I chalked it up to a failing bulb and figured I will fix it when I get around to it.

Now the unit no longer flickers it just goes through short phases of being off or on competely. Most of the time when the climate control screen shuts off the green lights on the vent direction and AC buttons will stay illuminated as if the unit was still on. However when the screen shuts off the fan also shuts off. Most of the time when I start the car the climate control will not come on, then when it feels like it usually after 5-10 minutes it will turn on for a couple of minutes and turn off randomly, sometimes the damn thing just won't turn on. At other times when the screen shuts off the buttons turn off as well, as if you were to just click the fan - button till it shut off normally.

The really strange thing is that I thought the light was failing, but when the screen goes dark, and the buttons stay on you can push all the buttons you want but it will not change, ie, if it is on auto, and you click the button for floor vents nothing will happen, the buttons don't change colors or anything.

I am really confused on this matter and have no idea where the hell to even start looking to fix this problem. Money is tight so just ditching this climate control unit and buying a new one at the stealership is a major hardship. I know it is not a fuse because the thing comes on and off. The cars says the check control is ok, so will the unit throw a code if it is freaking out? Any help is really really appreciated!

Please help!

Hookers need love too!
What we do in life echoes an eternity
<img src='http://vfs.com/~3d43patrick/rookiesig2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Rookie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 03-13-2005, 12:52 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Live_the_Curves is an unknown quantity at this point
Common problem in almost all E36's with a digital climate control, I had mine fixed few years ago, got some guy off ebay to fix it, it works fine now and only cost me $35 plus shipping.
Live_the_Curves is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 03-13-2005, 08:19 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
SuperFreaks 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to SuperFreaks 323is Send a message via Yahoo to SuperFreaks 323is
Yeah i was having the same problem, i thought it was the final stage unit and replaced that, but that wasnt it. So i found a guy off ebay fixes them for around 55 buck total iwth shipping and he does a great job. He's fixed over 500 i think or he sells new digital climate control units for 185.00. Heres one of the links: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...ssPageName=WDVW
SuperFreaks 323is is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 03-13-2005, 08:51 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
mech9T8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
mech9T8 is an unknown quantity at this point
You can fix it for even less money than this.
You basically need to replace a capacitor.
It cost me a total of $15.25 ($0.25 for a new capacitor and $15 for an electrician to install it). I can't find the link with the detailed instructions (I'll see if I can find it later) but here is a different link I found:


Link

<img src='http://www.geocities.com/royb9t8/MY_BMW_2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

<span style='color:blue'>My ass may be dumb, but I ain't no dumb ass!</span>
mech9T8 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 03-13-2005, 08:59 AM
Neutral Member
 
fredo328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
fredo328 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to fredo328
Even less than that if you do it yourself
http://www.macadamizer.com/bmwfix.html

This is a real good DIY, helped me out quite a bit.

<img src='http://home.comcast.net/~farrieta/index_files/image001.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
<a href='http://www.328i.org/index.php' target='_blank'>328 life</a>
1998 328
fredo328 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 03-13-2005, 09:12 AM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
that guy on ebay is good i heard....he was going to replace my analogue with a digital unit last summer but El Pres advised me against it because they analogue is much more simpler to use and won't give problems like this down the road

Delmarco is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 03-13-2005, 09:30 AM
Neutral Member
 
fredo328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
fredo328 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to fredo328
have to agree with the author of your link mech9T8, those 0.47 uF capacitors are hard to find making the e-bay guy a good option.

<img src='http://home.comcast.net/~farrieta/index_files/image001.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
<a href='http://www.328i.org/index.php' target='_blank'>328 life</a>
1998 328
fredo328 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 03-13-2005, 11:00 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rookie is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
SWEET!!! You guys rock. I was thinking for sure that I was going to have to drop two or three hundred bucks on a new computer and go to the stealership. I have a friend who is really talented with a soldering iron, I think I will just order the part and have him install it. That is awesome. By the way this sort of thing should be in the FAQs.

Hookers need love too!
What we do in life echoes an eternity
<img src='http://vfs.com/~3d43patrick/rookiesig2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Rookie is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 03-13-2005, 07:31 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
wulley1 is an unknown quantity at this point
www.digikey.com is a good place to get the cap.
wulley1 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 03-14-2005, 12:51 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
mech9T8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
mech9T8 is an unknown quantity at this point
I used fredo's link...that's the link I couldn't find.
I had no problem finding the capacitor.

<img src='http://www.geocities.com/royb9t8/MY_BMW_2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

<span style='color:blue'>My ass may be dumb, but I ain't no dumb ass!</span>
mech9T8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
climate control fan speed sanga 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 4 06-02-2010 12:47 PM
BMW has perhaps the WORST climate control SpeedsterBMW 3-Series (E46, E90) 27 05-03-2010 10:59 AM
Wacky Climate Control moe19x 3-Series (E36) 7 10-22-2005 12:38 PM
Rebuilding your e36 climate control computer 98e36bostonchic OEM Parts 2 10-18-2005 10:09 AM
Climate Control Module Upgrade E46 BMWNUT 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 10-21-2004 02:09 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome