"Check Console" msg - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-30-2004, 03:10 PM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kraze0g is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Smile

My problem is that, once in a while (like right now) the check console thing will light up on my dash and then it'll say "TAIL LIGHT FAILURE" on the little computer. I have 97 328i and this TAIL LIGHT FAILURE thing pops up every once in a while?? I know for a fact that there is nothing wrong with my tail lights and I even had my car taken to BMW and they switched ALL the bulbs and did everything, and the "tail light failure" msg went away. Well that was about a week and a half ago and about 2 days later, it popped up again. Then it went away for a few days, then it came back, went away, and now its back. Why doesn't it make up its mind if its not working or not? And why does it say it when I know everything works fine.

thx
kraze0g is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 06-30-2004, 03:27 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
iantosca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iantosca is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to iantosca
I have a '98 328i and it does the same thing from time to time. Even though everything is working. I usually can just shut the car off and turn it back on the light goes away. I don't know how to fix it, but just letting you know that your not alone. ghead

98' BMW 328i - Jet Black, Black Leather, Alpine CDA-9831 HU

<span style='color:red'>For Sale:</span> Sony CDX-F5000 Xplod w/ Wiring Harness, iBook G3 900 Mhz 640 MB SDRAM w/ Original Box and Software + OS X Panther + Microsoft Office

(PM on any offers, Going on E-Bay soon ...)
iantosca is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 06-30-2004, 03:29 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
RIBEMR26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
RIBEMR26 is an unknown quantity at this point
It might be just like the "brake circuit failure" message that I get all the time which is a known problem with E36's. With the circuit failure, you can replace some little switch under the dash to correct the problem...yours might have a similar resolution.

<img src='http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/uploads/post-46-1094081870.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

Clear Corners and Sidemarkers
ZKW Euro Ellipsoids w/ DDE Enhanced
Debaffled Airbox w/Green Drop-In High Performance Air Filter
RIBEMR26 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 06-30-2004, 08:27 PM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
greennvmachine is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to greennvmachine
I read on a different post about the wires in the trunk rubbing together so often that the wire insulation was dissipated. you'll have to open your trunk and cut the primary casing off the wires to look at them. *Short*
greennvmachine is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 06-30-2004, 08:40 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: East Texas..USA...
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DeefNDorf is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to DeefNDorf Send a message via MSN to DeefNDorf
Hmm..Its usually a bulb that may have moved..I have one bulb that does it all the time..just wiggle it and it goes off...It just somthen loose...happens to everybody..you can always secure yr bulbs....

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...
DeefNDorf is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-30-2004, 12:31 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1stm3 is an unknown quantity at this point
i have the same problem and I found out that most of the time its a brake light switch, that is located under the steering colum. the part is about 20.00 or so. i'll let you know if it works or not.
1stm3 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-30-2004, 12:34 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Deloriant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Deloriant is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Deloriant
I get the tailight failure message all the time. However, a little while after I installed my clear corners my reverse lights stopped working so that could be the cause =P

<img src='http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o17/M4yorThis/119575444991686.jpg'>
Deloriant is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-30-2004, 07:59 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fadec40 is an unknown quantity at this point
It's one of those little "nuisance" messages you get from time to time. With me, it's the windshield washer fluid message.

But I think the system is a reliable one and can be trusted most of the time!
Fadec40 is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-30-2004, 01:50 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Reedalicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Thats how we do it in the OC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reedalicious is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Reedalicious
my display says brake light failure, but thats becuase I have a tail light out. But when I brake hard, it says brake circut failure. So I guesse Im saying I need help too.

Reedalicious is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 07-30-2004, 01:59 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fadec40 is an unknown quantity at this point
Obviously, the message is for brake circuitry only. Nothing to do with actual brake problems.

Check all bulbs and connections. Take the time to reove the connector, inspect it, maybe for corrosion or wear and reconnect it. Do this for all brake lights.
Fadec40 is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 07-30-2004, 02:04 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
RIBEMR26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
RIBEMR26 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
my display says brake light failure, but thats becuase I have a tail light out. But when I brake hard, it says brake circut failure. So I guesse Im saying I need help too.
The brake circuit failure is a common problem in E36's. You have to change the brake switch...I just bought one at BMW for like $35...the DIY is here:

http://www.geocities.com/e36rulz/DIY.html

<img src='http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/uploads/post-46-1094081870.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

Clear Corners and Sidemarkers
ZKW Euro Ellipsoids w/ DDE Enhanced
Debaffled Airbox w/Green Drop-In High Performance Air Filter
RIBEMR26 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"check Engine" 1998BMWZ3 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 4 07-28-2005 12:08 PM
"check Coolant Level" How Do I? ynotony 3-Series (E36) 18 07-26-2005 10:23 PM
"check Brake Lininings"????? vlad_ignatenko 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 11 05-09-2005 12:03 AM
"check Engine" Light Turned On. alienbust 3-Series (E36) 9 03-15-2005 08:04 PM
"check Engine" Light precision0904 3-Series (E36) 12 12-04-2004 02:25 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome